Skip to content

Raspberry Rugelach

January 28, 2011

I looked out my window this morning and decided that today is a cup of tea kind of a day.  The sky is ugly gray and hanging ominously low, the Gabe is not feeling well and I may have eaten one too many of those sticky buns from yesterday.  And the worst part of all this is that I actually have to leave my house and run errands.  But since I’m running errands, and every good baker knows that you only drink tea with sweets, I can pick up the one or two things I may need for raspberry rugelach…and then pretend I actually have the time to sit and drink a whole cup of tea while it’s still hot.

Raspberry Rugelach

1. Cream butter and cream cheese together

2. Mix in more ingredients, roll, wrap, flatten (slightly)

3. Turn this…

…into this

4. Roll out dough to roughly 9 inches

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Add Jam

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and that yummy filling

 

6. Cut into quarters, then each quarter into thirds, and roll

until you have a lot of these (48 to be exact!)

7. Brush with egg wash and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar

8. Bake until beautiful

Indulge…they’re little…so you only have to count every other one (or two)

Raspberry Rugelach

(customized from Ina Garten’s recipe found here: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/rugelach-recipe/index.html)

Ingredients:

8 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature

1/2 pound of unsalted butter, at room temperature

1/4 cup sugar plus 9 tablespoons, divided

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups flour

1/4 brown sugar, lightly packed

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon, divided

1/2 – 3/4 cup currants

1 cup walnuts, finely chopped

1/2 cup seedless raspberry jam

1 egg beaten with 1 tablespoon milk, for egg wash

Directions:

1. Cream the cream cheese and butter in large mixing bowl (or standing mixer fitted with paddle attachment) until light (at least 3-5 minutes)

2. Add 1/4 cup sugar, salt and vanilla.  With the mixer on low speed  add the flour and mix until just combined.  Dump the dough onto a well floured surface and roll into a ball.  Cut the ball into 4 quarters and wrap each tightly in plastic wrap, flattening slightly.  Refrigerate for 1 hour.

3. To make the filling, combine 6 tablespoons sugar, brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, currants, and walnuts in a small bowl.  Set aside.

4. On a well floured surface, roll each ball of dough into a 9 inch circle.  I find it’s easier to roll out with a piece of plastic wrap on top of the dough to prevent the rolling pin from sticking.  I also trim the edges of the dough after it’s been rolled out to make a prettier, rounder circle (but that’s just the ocd in me talking).

5. (For each circle) Spread 2 tablespoons of jam on the surface and sprinkle with 1/2 cup of the filling.  Press the filling lightly into the circle.

6. Cut the circle into 12 equal wedges-cutting the whole circle in quarters and each quarter into thirds.  Starting with the wide edge, roll up each wedge.  Place the cookies, points tucked under, on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Chill for 30 minutes.  note: keep a damp cloth by your work area to wipe your knife off often-it gets pretty sticky from all the jam.

While they are refrigerating, preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

7. Brush each cookie with egg wash.  Combine 3 tablespoons sugar with 1 teaspoon cinnamon and sprinkle on the cookies.

8. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until lightly browned.  Remove to a wire rack and let cool.

Now I’ll be taking those and my hot cup of tea to my couch…for the purposes of this blog we’ll pretend my couch (and living room) looks like this

(I’ve had this picture saved on my computer for quite some time, I apologize, I can’t remember where it’s from-so if it’s yours, thank you, I would like to visit with you)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy Monteiro permalink
    January 28, 2011 11:03 pm

    That looks yummy…where do you find the time???? Love the living room!!! You had me wondering if you redecorated 🙂

  2. January 29, 2011 12:27 pm

    yummmmyyyy

  3. Vesta permalink
    February 1, 2011 4:40 pm

    I love, love, love rugelach!!…. And I might love the living room even more!

Trackbacks

  1. A klutz with a (Christmas) cookie « the purple spoon

Leave a Reply

