Skip to content

Chocolate White Chip Cookies

March 28, 2011

I am convinced there is no more perfect treat than a cookie.  Adults love them, kids can’t get enough of them, you can mix almost anything into them, and milk would be consumed a lot less without them.  And if I have a sudden craving for something sweet, I know that I can mix up a batch of cookies and in just a few minutes I’ll have a warm, satisfying snack.  Cookies were the first thing I mastered in the kitchen at the ripe old age of 7 and any friend I did make over the following 10 years was probably because of my cookies.  It’s even rumored that I made my way to my (now) husbands heart by baking him cookies.  If the latter is true I can promise you my girls will not be baking any cookies until after college!

These chocolate cookies are my absolute favorite cookie of all time.  I like to eat them hot out of the oven when they are warm and gooey but on the rare occasion they’ve survived long enough to cool they are just as outstanding.  There’s really nothing gourmet about them, they just have a perfect balance of chocolate goodness with the slightly sweeter bite of white chocolate scattered throughout.  Oh and it has nothing to do the with the fact that they closely resemble a fudge brownie in neatly portioned circles 🙂

Stir together the dry ingredients

Beat butter and sugar together

Add eggs and vanilla

Combine it all together

Portion it out on a cookie sheet

Bake until beautiful and cool (if you have to)

Chocolate White Chip Cookies
Yields about 4 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

2 cups flour
2/3 cup cocoa powder, preferably a dark or dutch processed cocoa
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 large eggs, at room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla

1 3/4 cup white chocolate chip cookies

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F).  Line a cookie sheet* with parchment paper.

In a medium sized bowl, stir together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.

2. In a large bowl, beat together butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add eggs and vanilla and beat until combined.  Add dry ingredients and beat on low speed to combine.  Make sure to scrape the bottom and sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula to make sure all dough is incorporated.  Stir in white chocolate chips.

3. Using a medium cookie scoop or tablespoon, drop dough in rows on the cookie sheet leaving about 2 inches between each cookie.  Bake for 8-10 minutes, cookies should look very slightly underdone, they will continue to cook on the baking sheet when you take them out.  I’ve found a lot of people wait until they look completely done in the oven and then they burn or become hard as rocks when cooled.  Remove the cookie sheets from the oven and allow the cookies to cool on the sheet for about 1 minute before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely.  Eat whenever you feel like!

*I recommend using a flat sheet with no sides, it allows the cookies to expand better than a sheet with sides.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 3:28 pm

    These were my favorite cookies as a kid! Such a great comfort snack for me! Thanks for sharing

  2. March 28, 2011 5:19 pm

    I’m with you let them cool just enough so you don’t suffer a serious burn. Warm and gooey with white chocolate, Oh Yeah!!

  3. LISA PETTY permalink
    March 28, 2011 7:44 pm

    yumm

  4. March 29, 2011 8:00 am

    I would agree with your ‘cookie philosophy’ … cookies are the perfect snack food. These look killer!

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate Caramel Candy Bar Cookies « the purple spoon
  2. Maple Walnut Oatmeal Pancakes « the purple spoon

Leave a Reply

