Skip to content

Batter Up! Magnolia’s Vanilla Cupcakes

March 31, 2011


Happy Opening Day 2011!  I don’t have tickets to the opening game (unlike my brother-but I’m not bitter or anything…) but I figured I could at least show support to my favorite team with a New York based cupcake recipe and sugar cookies.

I am a little bitter about the sugar cookies.  I’m fairly new to the decorated cookie scene and I failed to research how to best do the logo so that it would come across as accurate as possible.  These were done freehand and I was happy with them…until afterwards.  I found out (thanks to bake at 350) that you can pipe royal icing on wax paper, let it dry and then peel off the design and stick it to a sugar cookie.  That way I could have traced an actual Yankees logo but hindsight is always 20/20, right?  So here is what the cookies could have looked like…

much better…oh well, just imagine the rest look like this.

So back to the cupcakes.  It is the New York Yankees so a New York cupcake is in order.  This recipe was my first home made cupcake recipe. aww.  I was working at a rather awesome catering facility and working with fabulous people.  It was there that I was first introduced to the Magnolia cupcake, or the idea of one.  We all loved to eat (I mean, who doesn’t?) and the challenge was put out for someone to bring in some cupcakes.  The problem with getting Magnolia’s was there was a limit to what a person could buy and none of us lived in the city.  So I did the next best thing.  I bought her cookbook, went home and went to work on the ever popular vanilla vanilla cupcake.  It worked!  It was easy to follow and produced a tasty, moist cupcake.  I was hooked and my love of creamed butter and fluffy sugar blossomed 🙂

This cupcake is more dense than fluffy and uses a confectioners buttercream (that I’ve tailored for texture).  Bake them for the shortest time and test them before adding time because they look slightly underdone when in fact they are.

Stir together dry ingredients

Cream the butter

Beat in sugar until light and fluffy

Add eggs

Alternately beat in dry and wet ingredients

to get a yummy batter like this

Bake and cool completely

Frost and eat 🙂

Magnolia’s Vanilla Cupcakes
Recipe from More from Magnolia, Alyssa Torey
Yields 24 cupcakes

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups self-rising flour
1 1/4 cups cake flour

1 cup butter, at room temperature
2 cups sugar
4 large eggs, at room temperature
1 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup butter
4 cups powdered sugar
1/4 cup heavy cream
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F).  Line 2 cupcake pans with liners.

For the cupcakes: In a medium bowl, stir together both flours and set aside.

2. In a large bowl, cream the butter at least 3 minutes.  Gradually add sugar and continue to beat until light and fluffy.  Add eggs one at a time, scraping down the bowl in between each addition.  Add flour in three parts alternating with the milk and vanilla and beginning and ending with the flour.

3. Using a 1/4 cup measuring cup (or cupcake scoop) fill the cupcake liners about 1/2 full.  Bake in preheated oven for 18-22 minutes.  Let cool in pan for 15 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

4. For the frosting: In a large bowl, cream the butter.  Gradually add sugar a few tablespoons at a time, periodically stopping to scrape the sides of the bowl.  Add sugar until the frosting is slightly thicker than spreading consistency, you may not need to use all the sugar.  Beat in heavy cream and vanilla.  Frost cupcakes as desired.

For the Sugar Cookie recipe visit here.

GO YANKEES!!!

Leave a Reply

