Skip to content

Chocolate Cream Cheese Cake Truffles

April 28, 2011

Cake balls, Cake pops, Cake truffles…if you’ve been on the internet in the past two years you’ve no doubt seen these before.  Or just stood in line at a Starbucks in the past month.  They’ve become somewhat of a sensation in their own right.  I’ve never had any desire to make them, probably because most recipes I saw were for boxed cake mix and canned icing.  Now as yummy as that sounds I have to admit I’m not really the boxed mix type of gal. So why now?  Well, I only figured I’d try them because I had extra chocolate cake and extra cream cheese icing from those oatmeal cookies.  And, This is the first and last time you will see the purple spoon make cake truffles.  Seriously, for the amount of mess they made I might as well just make real chocolate truffles.

For starters, I had cupcakes to crumble and one or two may have disappeared so I was short on cake.  OK-crumbling cupcakes?  It’s gross.  But maybe that’s just me?  So back to being short on cake, I didn’t think it would make that much of a difference so I just dumped in all my icing and started mixing.  Well it did make a difference so my cake balls were a little on the moist side-not a total loss though, they could still be formed.  Again the forming?  No fun either-I suggest rinsing your hands several times throughout the process, I did find it was easier to form the balls with clean hands.  Dipping them was the easy part.  Of course me in all my brilliance thought, I’ll just use my wire cooling rack so the chocolate can drip down.  Umm, chocolate hardens…duh!  Just don’t look underneath my cake truffles 🙂  So that’s that.  I can now say I’ve made them.  I personally didn’t enjoy the process, I would much rather look at the cute ones on bakerella’s website 🙂  I am thinking they would be fun for my daughter to make at her birthday party though!

Beat confectioners sugar into creamed butter and cream cheese

until you have a nice smooth icing

crumble chocolate cake into a bowl

add the icing to the crumbled cake

mix it with a fork until it comes together…rocket science, I know…

form them into little balls and freeze them

melt a little chocolate

dip each cake ball

and let the excess drip off before removing to wax paper

decorate ’em and eat ’em 🙂

Chocolate Cream Cheese Cake Truffles
Yields approximately 50 truffles-although don’t quote me on that…quite a few never made it to chocolate covered stage

Ingredients:

1 recipe Devils Food Cake, cooked and cooled
6 Tablespoons butter
4 oz cream cheese (1/2 a block)
2 cups confectioners sugar
1 tablespoon milk
1-12 oz package chocolate melts
vegetable oil
decorations

Directions:

1. In a large mixing bowl cream the butter and cream cheese.  Beat in 1 cup of the confectioners sugar.  Add the milk.  Beat in the rest of the sugar until smooth and creamy.

2. Crumble the Devils food cake in another large bowl.  Dollop the cream cheese icing on top and stir it into the cake with a fork until the whole mess comes together.  Form the cake into 1 inch balls and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  When all the balls are formed, stick them in the fridge for a few hours or the freezer for 30 minutes or so until completely chilled but not hard.

3. Line another baking sheet with parchment paper.  In a deep microwavable bowl, melt chocolate.  If the chocolate seems too thick add a little vegetable oil to thin it out. Never use water! Dip each cake ball into the melted chocolate to fully coat and take it out with a fork, letting the excess chocolate drip off.  Place the truffle onto the new baking sheet and repeat until all are done.  You can drizzle a different colored chocolate over them or if you want to use sprinkles or candies-do them right away when the chocolate is still melted.  Enjoy!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    April 28, 2011 10:09 pm

    haha! I made cakepops one day – NIGHTMARE… though part of the nightmare was I couldn’t get them to stay on the stick! I hate making the cakeballs too – but yours came out looking great! I totally agree about the making them with clean hands – I had to wash SEVERAL times because if I didn’t – I couldn’t get the balls formed right.
    Great post!

    • April 29, 2011 7:19 am

      Thanks Kim! I’m glad I’m not the only one! I did make cheesecake pops once last year and I found they were much easier and tastier 🙂

  2. April 29, 2011 10:53 am

    This is one of the funniest things I’ve read in a while, mostly because I know exactly how you feel. Cake pops, balls, etc, are a royal pain in the hiney. Yes they taste good and are kind of addicting (maybe just me) but you’re wiped out when you’re done. Then there’s the mess in the kitchen! Thank you so much for saying out loud what so many of us thing. Hat’s off to Bakerella for doing this all the time!

  3. May 3, 2011 3:55 pm

    I just made some cake pops myself, and they turned out…eh, pretty well. Yours are definitely prettier, I’ll say that much 🙂 Any tips for how to keep the chocolate coating from melting? I put mine in the freezer, but then they ended up sweating when I took them out (not a big deal, just not terribly “good looking”). Love the cheesecake-style of these! ^_^

    • May 3, 2011 4:24 pm

      Thanks Mary and Yours looked good! I just checked them out 🙂 Technically I don’t think the chocolate melts are supposed to be refrigerated or frozen, I kept mine in a relatively cool, dry place and they were fine. Last year I made cheesecake pops in July so to keep those from melting I did stick them in the fridge and I don’t remember a problem with sweating…then again they were consumed rather quickly 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Countdown Champagne Cake Pops « the purple spoon
  2. Easy Chocolate Truffles With Cream Cheese - Food Recipe

Leave a Reply

