Skip to content

Tender Blue Cheese Scones

May 3, 2011

Occasionally I do eat real meals in between desserts.  You may laugh but it’s not unusual for my husband to ask me if I’ve eaten any “real” food that day.  You mean to tell me that even though cupcakes have eggs AND milk in them they STILL don’t qualify as a well rounded breakfast?! I did drink some OJ afterwards!  Yeah…it’s that bad.  But I have realized that my family cannot survive on butter and sugar alone and I normally do have as much fun cooking dinner as I do whipping up some cookies 🙂 These scones didn’t originate as a dinner side dish but after making them once I needed to have them again!  I served them with steak and they were a nice break from the traditional starches and the kids loved them.

Now Blue Cheese is not something we normally consume.  It was one of the few foods my Mom didn’t like so naturally we didn’t eat it as kids.  My Mom’s distaste cast a negative light on the stuff that I’ve never really been able to shake.  But, I happened to have some blue cheese available and set out to see what it would be like in a scone.  I’m pretty sure I grimaced while adding the cheese to the dough.  But, they baked up beautifully, golden brown and puffy, they even smelled good!  I picked out a small misshapen scone to taste, careful to break off just the edge so I wouldn’t get too big of a bite.  And, wow!  Flakey, tender on the inside with a thin crisp on the outside.  That first scone was quick to go!

Unfortunately I didn’t take any pictures of that first batch so these here I did with goat cheese in place of the blue cheese.  Still good, I prefer the blue cheese but the goat cheese is a little more versatile so you could pair it with the typical accompaniments of jam and cream.

Stir the dry ingredients together

add in cut butter

cut the butter some more until it resembles course crumbs

crumble the blue cheese (or goat cheese) into the mixture with a fork

pour in heavy cream

and stir it until the whole mixture comes together

roll out the dough into a rectangle and cut into triangles (see, you can use geometry in real life!)

bake until the scones are golden brown

Blue Cheese Scones
Recipe adapted from America’s test kitchen via smitten kitchen
Yields approximately 12 scones

Ingredients:

2 cups flour
2 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cold and cut in pieces
4 oz creamy blue cheese (NOT the dressing, an actual block of blue cheese) or goat cheese
1 cup heavy cream

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees (F).  In a large mixing bowl, stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt with a fork or whisk.  Add in butter and using two knives, cut the butter into the flour mixture until it resembles course crumbs.  Scoop the cheese out with a spoon and dollop onto the flour butter mixture.  Using a fork, gently combine the cheese into the mixture just until its evenly distributed, you can leave some larger chunks.  Pour in the heavy cream and stir with a fork just until the dough comes together.

2. Lightly flour a work surface and dump the dough onto it.  Roll the dough into a ball and then cover with a piece of parchment paper or plastic wrap and roll into a rectangle roughly 7 inches wide by 12 inches high.  Cut the dough into wedges and place on an ungreased baking sheet.  Bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown.  Move the scones to a wire rack and let cool for at least 10 minutes before serving.  Serve warm or at room temperature.  If you don’t eat all of these, you can store them in a ziploc bag and they will still be soft the next morning.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

