Skip to content

Peanut Butter Blossoms

May 17, 2011

I consider myself a pretty happy person.  I like to have fun, I love to laugh. I’m the one in the grocery store smiling at random strangers just because.  I even like Monday’s, I consider them my day to get things done which in itself makes me happy.  But yesterday was one of those Mondays.  It was cold and rainy out, I woke up with my finger throbbing and a list a mile long of things to do, a lot of which has been difficult to do.  I was frustrated and annoyed and that made me even more frustrated.  I finally realized at about 3 o’clock that I needed Dove Chocolate.

Whoever thought of putting cute messages inside chocolate wrappers was a marketing genius.  Whoever first combined chocolate and peanut butter was also a genius.  I’d like to take this opportunity to personally thank both of them by putting Dove chocolate on my peanut butter cookies.  I don’t know if it was the wrapper or the cookie, but it put a smile on my face 🙂

Cream the butter, peanut butter, and sugars together

until light and fluffy

Beat in egg

Add in dry ingredients

and beat just until combined for an oh so yummy peanut butter cookie batter

Roll the dough into 1 inch balls, dip in sugar and place on cookie sheet

unwrap some dove chocolate

Remove cookies from the oven and immediately place chocolate in the middle

move them to a wire rack to cool completely

or not…

Dove Chocolate Peanut Butter Blossoms
Adapted from The All-Butter, Sugar-Packed, No Holds Barred Baking Book 
Yields approximately 40 cookies

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 stick (1/2 cup) of unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup lightly packed brown sugar
3/4 cup sugar, divided
1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 large egg, at room temperature
40 individually wrapped Dove chocolate squares, milk or dark

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

2. Sift the flour, baking soda and salt together in a small bowl and set aside.

3. Using an electric mixer on medium speed, cream the butter, brown sugar, 1/4 cup of the granulated sugar, peanut butter and vanilla in a large mixing bowl until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Stop once or twice to scrape down the bowl with a rubber spatula.  Add the egg and blend just until incorporated.  Add the dry ingredients and blend on low speed until incorporated, scrape down the bowl and increase the speed to medium.  Beat until fully combined.

6. Roll the dough into 1 inch balls.  Dip one side of each ball in the remaining 1/2 cup sugar and place them 2 inches apart and sugar side up on the prepared cookie sheets.

7. Bake until the cookies are light gold, puffed and cracked, about 8-10 minutes.  While the cookies are baking, unwrap the chocolates.  Remove the sheets from the oven and immediately top each cookie with a chocolate, pressing it firmly to imbed it into the cookie.  Remove the cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.

What happens if you put the cookies to close to the edge and your 20 month old son figures out what’s up there.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2011 12:53 pm

    PB blossoms are my absolute favorite! I love that you used dove bites in them, looks like the perfect amount of chocolate per bite!

  2. May 19, 2011 1:01 pm

    My mom makes a variation on these and yes…they are most excellent! Do yours end up crispy, or more soft?

    • May 19, 2011 5:07 pm

      these are like my favorite cookies growing up too! these come out soft, if I’ve left them in the oven for a min or 2 too long they crisp up but by the next day they are soft again.

  3. May 24, 2011 3:01 pm

    This is one of the best Peanut Butter Blossom recipes I’ve seen. That Dove chocolate sitting on top is divine.

Trackbacks

  1. A recap of 2011: the favs and the faqs « the purple spoon
  2. Strawberry Shortcake Cupcakes « the purple spoon

Leave a Reply

