Skip to content

Coconut Cheesecake with a White Chocolate, Coconut Almond Crust

June 21, 2011

I have developed a recent infatuation with yard sales.  I’m pretty sure that officially makes me old but I guess that’s bound to happen someday… it’s not that I love picking through people’s dusty attic treasures, it’s more the idea that a bargain could be awaiting behind every garage door.  One of my most recent finds was a baker who was closing her home business.  Umm, score!  She had boxes upon boxes of bundt pans, cake rounds, spring form pans, loaf pans, it was heaven.  I left with at least $150 worth of bakers heaven for a whopping $8.  Yeah, you read that right, eight dollars.  One of my acquisitions was an absolutely adorable 7 inch spring form pan (25 cents!).  I’m not sure why I thought I needed it, I have about 8 spring form pans but I didn’t have a 7 inch one!  I like it because I can make a cheesecake for dessert just for my family and I’m not left with 3/4 of a cheesecake for me to pick at 🙂

I’m pretty picky when it comes to cheesecake (I’ve outlined said pickiness in these previous posts).  But every once in a while a new venture is in order.  I’m not going to say this is my favorite cheesecake because it’s not.  It is an absolutely delicious, creamy, coconut-y one though that will definitely hold it’s own.  The toasty and crunchy crust is a welcome balance to the just sweet enough filling.  I garnished it with dark chocolate frosting (it almost tastes like a really good almond joy bar!) but I can imagine it would pair well with a lemon curd or maybe some pineapple for a pina colada dessert!

stir together coconut, almonds and sugar, add melted butter for crust

press into pan and bake until golden brown

cream the cream cheese and sugar

add eggs, coconut milk, vanilla and 1 or 2 other things

fold in the coconut

sprinkle some white chocolate over the crust before adding the filling

bake, decorate, refrigerate and eat

Coconut Cheesecake with a White Chocolate, Coconut Almond Crust
Yields a 7 inch cheesecake, about 7-8 servings

Note: I imagine you could double the entire recipe for a 9 or 10 inch springform pan and bake for 1 hour but I haven’t tested it, just speaking from other experience.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoons sliced almonds
1/3 cup sweetened shredded coconut
1 tablespoon sugar
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

16 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup sugar
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon coconut milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
1/4 teaspoons coconut extract
1 cup sweetened shredded coconut

1/2 cup white chocolate baking chips

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F). Fill a teapot with hot water and bring to a boil.  Line a 7 inch springform pan with parchment paper and wrap the outside of the pan in 2 sheets of heavy duty aluminum foil. Set aside.

Toast the almonds and 1/3 cup shredded coconut for about 5-7 minutes or until golden brown and fragrant.  Place the coconut in a small mixing bowl and chop (or grind in a food processor) the almonds finely.  Add the chopped almonds to the coconut along with the 1 tablespoon of sugar.  Stir to combine.  Add melted butter and stir until evenly distributed.  Press the mixture into the springform pan evenly and bake until the edges are golden brown, about 7 minutes.  Set aside.

2.  In a large mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese and sugar on medium speed with an electric mixer until combined and smooth.  Beat in eggs 1 at a time.  Beat in the coconut milk, vanilla, almond and coconut extracts.  Fold in the shredded coconut.

3. Sprinkle the white chocolate chips over the bottom of the crust.  Very lightly butter the sides of the spring form pan and pour batter into prepared pan.  Set a roasting pan or other large pan into the preheated oven (this one is so small I actually used a 9 inch brownie pan!).  Place the spring form pan inside it and pour the boiling water into the roasting pan so that it comes half way up the sides of the spring form pan.  Bake for 50 minutes or until the middle is set.

4. Remove spring form pan from the water bath.  Let cool for a couple minutes and then CAREFULLY remove the foil from the outside of the pan (you may need two people to do this the first time).  Let the cheesecake cool to room temperature and then cover and refrigerate over night or at least 8 hours.

Yumm!! My Favorite part was the crust and bottom part where the white chocolate was-so good!!

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 10:15 pm

    Please tell me that you actually made enough for everyone and that you’re sending mine FedEx.

  2. June 21, 2011 11:26 pm

    First of all, I totally get the love of flea markets. I am a fan of consignment shops and have found some incredible bargains. Secondly, your cheesecake looks so summery and ‘Jimmy Buffet’ to me! All I need is a marguerita to sip, a nice grilled shrimp salad, and your cheesecake for dessert. Sweet!

  3. June 22, 2011 7:56 am

    This looks creamy and fluffy-almost like a coconut cream pie! Regarding the sale-you really lucked out on that one. Sometimes you can find the neatest things at great bargain prices. That pic makes my mouth water-simply delicious.

    • June 22, 2011 8:29 am

      thank you! I was going for a coconut cream pie vibe, I originally wanted to do a coconut shortbread crust but I was short on time and I’m really happy with the almond crust I did do 🙂

  4. magicofspice permalink
    June 22, 2011 2:58 pm

    I knew I was going to be in trouble here just by the photos! What a delicious treat…and I am amazed that you have leftover cheese cake, this never happens in my house 🙂

    • June 23, 2011 8:12 pm

      thank you 🙂 and I know! it’s hard to believe! I think I just have my husband on dessert overload 🙂

  5. June 23, 2011 7:33 pm

    This looks incredible! Just the other day my friend told me she wanted to make coconut cheesecake & was asking for tips. I am sending her this post now!!!

  6. June 24, 2011 8:05 am

    I love how added the white chocolate chips to the crust before adding the filling! Wow! Anything cheesecake sounds good to me and this is no exception! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Mini Jam Swirled Butter Cakes with Frozen Cream Hearts « the purple spoon

Leave a Reply

