Skip to content

Weekend Brunch: Lemon Yogurt Muffins

July 23, 2011

I lead a very fancy life.  I have daily afternoon tea parties, endless fashion shows, ballets and talent competitions, and often don a crown because, well, every Queen wears a crown.  On weekends I sleep in and when I do wake, it’s to the smells of fresh brewed coffee and baked goods coming from the oven.

Ha! I wish! 

In reality, I’m a Mom of two very imaginative girls, and the weekend thing?  that’s just on my wish list. On weekends I never sleep in…ever.  I brew the coffee and any baked good scents are the result of my purple spoon doing what it was intended to do.  I don’t actually mind it, I’m one of those crazy people that voluntarily wakes at 5:30AM because I like mornings and the peace, quiet and solitude they bring.  I love to cook for my friends and family as well and few things in life make me happier than entertaining a leisurely Saturday morning brunch.

Brunch in our house usually consists of eggs, biscuits, sausage (sometimes sausage gravy-my favorite!), a fruit dish; fresh or baked, and always, muffins.  Blueberry muffins are my favorite but frequently I’m just trying to use what I have in the refrigerator.  This time it was lemons and yogurt.  And they were so good.  Moist, lemon-y but not tart, and baked with jam already in them (because apparently I believe that everything tastes better with blackberry jam in it!).


They are topped with a sweet lemon glaze that makes them irresistible.  So get up, go put on a pot of coffee, and get these muffins in the oven!  I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Lemon Yogurt Muffins
Adapted from Allrecipes
Yields approximately 12 muffins

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 egg, at room temperature
1 cup lemon, plain or vanilla yogurt, at room temperature
6 tablespoons butter, melted
1 tablespoon lemon juice, at room temperature
1 tablespoon lemon zest

1/4 cup blackberry jam (or raspberry or strawberry)

1/3 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon lemon zest (optional)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees (F).  Line a standard size muffin tin with liners and set aside.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  In another bowl, whisk together the egg, yogurt, melted butter, lemon juice and lemon zest.  Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and using a wooden spoon or rubber spatula, stir just until everything is combined.

3. Fill the muffin cups 2/3 full.  Spoon the jam into a pastry bag fitted with a long, plain tip and squeeze some jam into each muffin (I don’t have an exact measure for how much, just when the muffin batter puffs up like its full, I stop. It probably came out to be about a teaspoon of jam in each-I did have extra jam).  Bake in preheated oven for 18-22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the side comes out clean and the tops spring back at a touch.

4. While the muffins are cooking, make the glaze by combining lemon juice, sugar and zest (if using) in a small saucepan.  Cook over low heat until sugar is dissolved.  Remove from heat and set aside.  When muffins are done, let them cool in the pan for 5 minutes.  Using a toothpick, poke 5-6 holes in the top of each muffin and spoon the glaze over.  Remove muffins to a wire rack and let cool down for another 10-15 minutes.  Serve while still warm (just not too hot!).

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2011 7:14 am

    I always buy these from a bakery in Fredricksburg, when I visit there. Tangy yogurt goes very well with lemon, not to mention creating a very moist muffin. Based on that, these are none other than amazing! Also, I like the touch of blackberry jam. Yum!

  2. July 24, 2011 10:56 am

    These look delicious! How cute! 🙂

  3. July 24, 2011 12:47 pm

    I love the idea of the blackberry jam in these! They look so moist and yummy! Buzzed 🙂

  4. July 24, 2011 4:32 pm

    Sleeping in is overrated! But it is nice to do it once a while. Thank you for sharing this lovely cupcake recipe. Putting the jam in first is genius!

  5. July 25, 2011 9:20 pm

    Blackberry jam is very underrated. Happy to see it in these muffins.

  6. July 25, 2011 10:36 pm

    <MMM!! I'm loving the jam in the center of the lemon muffins. Nicely done! My daughter would have a blast filling them.

  7. magicofspice permalink
    July 27, 2011 10:06 pm

    I think we have the same dream life 🙂 These are lovely muffins!

Leave a Reply

