Skip to content

Hot Fudge Sauce

July 26, 2011

I am convinced that way back when hot fudge was it’s own dessert (I mean we have “cold” fudge, right?).  Then someone had to go and put it on some ice cream and ever since its been considered a condiment.  At least that’s what I like to tell myself as I eat spoonful after spoonful straight from the pot 🙂

Hot fudge sundaes are a favorite though, and I’ve been wanting one ever since watching a rerun of The Best Thing I Ever Ate, Ice Cream edition on Food Network.  Seriously, who could possibly watch that show and not want a huge dish of creamy vanilla ice cream drenched in thick, luscious, dark chocolate fudge?!  And then think of all the other possibilities of desserts that need fudge topping?  Brownies, cupcakes, strawberries, cheesecake, anything and everything.

I like this particular recipe because it has cocoa powder and bittersweet chocolate, it uses dark brown sugar and only requires a pot and a whisk.  I’ve only done it plain but I imagine it would lend itself well to different flavors; cinnamon and cayenne for a Mexican chocolate sauce, espresso powder for a darker, mocha sauce…you get the idea.  The result is a thick, smooth, rich fudge sauce that can be made up to a week ahead of time and reheated for pure deliciousness.

 

Hot Fudge Sauce
Makes about 2 cups
Recipe from Epicurious

Ingredients:

2/3 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup light corn syrup
1/3 cup packed dark brown sugar
1/4 cup unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 oz fine-quality bittersweet chocolate (not unsweetened), finely chopped
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:

1. In a heavy, medium saucepan, bring the cream, corn syrup, brown sugar, cocoa powder, salt and 3 ounces of the chocolate to a boil over medium heat, stirring until chocolate is melted.  When the mixture comes to a boil reduce the heat to maintain a low boil and cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

2. When the 5 minutes is complete, remove pot from the heat and whisk in the rest of the chocolate, butter and vanilla until smooth and the chocolate is completely melted.  Cool sauce slightly before serving.  It can be cooled completely and stored in an airtight container for up to 1 week in the refrigerator, just reheat before using.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. magicofspice permalink
    July 27, 2011 10:03 pm

    Oh my goodness…now I need chocolate! 🙂

  2. July 28, 2011 4:18 pm

    Wish I saw this recipe earlier…it would’ve been a great topping for my date cupcake!

    • July 28, 2011 7:09 pm

      those looked delicious! I’m kind of a “cooking with dates” novice-I’ll have to try those out!

  3. July 29, 2011 2:06 pm

    We love some hot fudge sauce in this house! This sounds great!

  4. July 29, 2011 6:00 pm

    I could eat this on toast it looks and sounds sooooo good!!!

Leave a Reply

