Skip to content

Death by Chocolate Brownie Bites

August 28, 2011

When some people prepare for an impending hurricane they stock up on water and canned food.  I bake.  I mean, if I’m going to be stuck inside my house without power, I am going to want some bite size treat to pop in my mouth every time I walk into the kitchen to see how my melting refrigerator is doing.  Something along the lines of chocolate, chocolate, and more chocolate is what I had in mind.  Perhaps to the tune of Death by chocolate brownie bites and dark chocolate, toasted pecan cookies.  I also armed myself with a list of recipes that I could make on the stove top (I love having a gas stove!).


Turns out I never lost power.  Murphy apparently saw how overly prepared I was and decided my house would be no fun (I did however lose internet access all weekend which is why I’m just now posting these!).  So I still baked, and ate, and baked some more 🙂

This little dessert needs hardly any introduction.  It’s decadent combination of ingredients speak for themselves.  Fudge like brownie bites for when your chocolate levels are low.  The marshmallow in the center just melts into the middle making it even more gooey and the dark chocolate and walnuts add a good flavor contrast.  I prefer these little babies right out of the oven but you could technically let them cool a bit…I still say serve them warm 🙂

Death by Chocolate Brownie Bites
Adapted from the ABSP Cookbook

Ingredients:

1 1/2 ounces unsweetened chocolate
2 1/2 ounces semi-sweet or bittersweet chocolate
8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
3 large eggs, at room temperature
7 tablespoons flour
1/4 teaspoon salt

24 mini marshmallows
1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips (recommended: Ghiradelli)
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F).  Grease a 24 cup mini-muffin pan with cooking spray and set aside.

2. In a heat proof bowl set over a pan of simmering water, melt the unsweetened chocolate, semi-sweet chocolate and butter.  When completely melted and combined, remove from heat and set aside to cool for 5 minutes.

3. Measure sugar into a medium size mixing bowl.  Whisk in cooled chocolate/butter mixture.  Whisk in eggs, 1 at a time, scraping down the bowl in between each addition.  Add vanilla.  Whisk in flour and salt.

4. Using a medium cookie scoop, measure batter into the prepared mini-muffin pan, the batter should almost fill each cup.  Stick 1 marshmallow into the center of the batter in each cup.  Top with bittersweet chocolate pushed slightly into the batter and sprinkle with walnuts.  Bake in the preheated oven for 10 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out with moist crumbs.  Let cool in pan for 5-10 minutes and then remove brownie bites to a wire rack.  Best served warm but can be kept in an air-tight container for up to 2 days.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Phyllis Clark permalink
    August 29, 2011 12:23 am

    These look yummy. Must make!!

  2. August 29, 2011 8:48 am

    Super easy to overeat, they look soooo good! Glad all is well.

  3. August 29, 2011 3:07 pm

    I am glad everything is ok. I’ve been craving chocolate (and trying to ignore it) for a couple of days now. It’ 9 in the evening and I am about to jump into my kitchen and make these! If I had enough butter in the fridge I would’ve!

  4. August 29, 2011 4:54 pm

    yes, you did make an excellent choice of goodies to have in the event of a power outage and I am glad the storm did not affect your place!
    This recipe is a real keeper-simply delicious.

Leave a Reply

