Skip to content

Silky Dark Chocolate Bourbon Tart

September 22, 2011

I’d like you to know that I spent a significant amount of my free thinking time this last week pondering what to bake that wouldn’t involve apples.  It didn’t help that I took the kids apple picking on Saturday and let’s just say if an apple a day keeps the Doctor away, we should be in perfect health the rest of the winter.  I also happened to visit a little French pastry shop and their cases were filled with little assorted tarts but it was the chocolate one that caught my eye.  It was a work of art…far too beautiful to eat while keeping my 2 year old from driving his cars over customers feet so I opted for the assorted macarons instead but all I could think about the rest of the day was how I wanted to be at home tempering and molding chocolate.  However reality politely tapped me on the shoulder reminding me of laundry, dishes and sick kids so I opted for the quicker, less beautiful but still stop-you-dead-in-your-tracks-and-tune-out-everything-else delicious option.


This tart is as rich and decadent as they come.  The filling is dark, luscious and melts right on your tongue.  It’s complimented by the crunchy graham crust with just a hint of cinnamon.  My original intention was to coat it with a layer of glossy ganache but it would have been too much (if there is that sort of thing).  All it really needed was a dollop of whipped cream and a dash of cinnamon…oh and perhaps some self restraint.

Silky Dark Chocolate Bourbon Tart with a Cinnamon Crust
Yields 1-9 inch tart…I don’t know, 2 servings?

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups graham cracker crumbs
3 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/3 cup butter, melted

1 1/3 cups heavy cream
11 ounces bittersweet chocolate, recommended-Ghiradelli
2 large eggs, at room temperature
2 tablespoons bourbon
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt

whipped cream for garnish

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F).  Combine graham cracker crumbs, sugar and cinnamon in a medium mixing bowl.  Stir in melted butter.  Press the crumbs into a 9 inch tart pan and bake for 4-6 minutes or just until very lightly toasted and fragrant.  Remove from the oven and set aside to cool.

2. Bring heavy cream to a simmer in a medium saucepan set over over low heat.  When it reaches a simmer remove from the heat and add chocolate.  Let it sit for 2 or 3 minutes and then whisk the chocolate until it completely melts and combines with the cream.

3. Place eggs in a medium mixing bowl.  Whisking the eggs vigorously, slowly add the chocolate in a stream down the side of the bowl until all the chocolate is added (basically temper the eggs with the chocolate-do it too fast and you’ll have scrambled eggs).  Whisk in the bourbon, vanilla and salt.

4. Pour the filling into the tart shell and bake for 20 minutes.  The filling should still be jiggly, it will firm up as it cools.  Remove from oven and let cool for about an hour or until the tart reaches room temperature and the filling is firm.  Serve warm or at room temperature with whipped cream and a little cinnamon.

*I had extra filling so I made another dozen or so mini tarts using a mini muffin pan (bake for 10 minutes).  If you don’t want extra you can probably cut the filling recipe in half but I have not tried that yet-I will update as soon as I can do another test run.  But in all actuality, a little extra filling isn’t so bad 🙂  I ate a lot of it straight from the bowl!


11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2011 7:55 am

    What a glorious distraction!

  2. September 22, 2011 11:36 am

    This looks ridiculously amazing. Well done madam. WELL DONE!

  3. September 22, 2011 4:45 pm

    It looks simple, but the bourbony kick is what makes it. Love the look of the little tartlets.

  4. September 22, 2011 7:33 pm

    Yeah, I think about two servings is right!!! What a fabulous dessert! And gorgeous photos, too. I will definitely give this one a shot…too yummy to miss.

  5. September 23, 2011 4:23 am

    What a wonderful indulgence here! I especially like the mini’s, such an elegant dessert. Saved recipe for a special occasion with guests-well done.

  6. September 23, 2011 9:08 am

    A little extra filling is always good! Those mini tarts are adorable – I’m a sucker for anything bite-sized.

  7. September 23, 2011 5:37 pm

    I ❤ the mini tarts!

  8. September 25, 2011 7:31 am

    Wow. Two of my favorite ingredients…chocolate and bourbon. Add in the whip cream and you know I’m smiling. :^)

Trackbacks

  1. A klutz with a (Christmas) cookie « the purple spoon
  2. A recap of 2011: the favs and the faqs « the purple spoon
  3. Pumpkin Pie Bars with Brown Sugar Meringue « the purple spoon

Leave a Reply

