Skip to content

Mini Bacon Corn Muffins with Savory Cream Cheese Frosting

November 19, 2011

I LOVE the Holidays!! And no, I’m not being sarcastic, I just happen to be one of those crazy people that loves all the planning and cooking and decorating-very exciting 🙂  However I timed birthing my first child very wrong (if only she hadn’t come two weeks late…) so that she’s right in the middle of the hustle and bustle.  Her birthday isn’t until next week but we’re having a party this weekend so I’ve been super busy baking and shopping and decorating for that!


I wouldn’t want to leave you hanging all weekend though so I figured I’d continue with another savory post to close out the week.  I started making these 2 years ago and they became an instant hit.  I still haven’t completely nailed down a “perfect” corn muffin recipe but this is the closest I’ve found and they sure are good.  These are one of our Thanksgiving dinner hors d’hoeuvres because they are just so cute when done bite-size 🙂  Corn muffins and bacon were made for each (I mean what doesn’t go with bacon!) but the frosting is what makes them.  It’s rich, slightly sweet from honey with a little bit of a bite from a good hot sauce (I like to use a thai spicy chili sauce) and great flavor from the chives.  You might just want to double the recipe because you’re guaranteed to eat quite a few while making them!

Mini Bacon Corn Muffins with a Savory Cream Cheese Frosting
Adapted from this recipe from Smitten Kitchen and from Brian Boitano
Yields 48 mini muffins

Ingredients:

 1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup yellow cornmeal, preferably stone-ground
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup buttermilk
8 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1 large egg
1 large egg yolk
5 slices of bacon cooked and cooled and roughly chopped

8 ounces cream cheese
2 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon hot sauce
1 bunch of chives sliced

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees (F).  Line a mini muffin pan with liners and set aside.

In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, corn meal, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

2. In another mixing bowl whisk together the buttermilk, melted butter, egg and egg yolk.  Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir just until completely combined.  Fold in the chopped bacon.

3. Divide the batter into the liners (about a tablespoon of batter in each muffin cup).  Bake for 10 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.  Remove muffins to a wire rack to cool completely.

4. For the Frosting: Cream the cream cheese in a medium bowl with an electric mixer on medium speed until smooth.  Add the honey and hot sauce and beat until combined.  Add half of the chives.  Frost each muffin and garnish with extra chive.  Serve and enjoy!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2011 2:32 pm

    Confession: I’ve never had a savory muffin. Not even a cornbread one. Sounds intriguing, though, especially the savory frosting!

  2. November 19, 2011 4:59 pm

    That’s a great little appetizer! My daughter’s birthday is the same way – two weeks before Christmas. It’s hard to squeeze it in, but I always try because I don’t want her to feel like her birthday just gets pushed asideto make room for the other hoidays.

  3. November 20, 2011 4:02 am

    It looks so delicate and luscious, perfect for Thanksgiving!

  4. November 20, 2011 5:29 pm

    These muffins look heavenly. What a perfect Holiday snack! Your photos are mouthwatering. Happy Birthday to your little daughter. I can imagine you need to be organised with a tiny tot around.

  5. November 20, 2011 6:25 pm

    Looks so good.

  6. November 21, 2011 1:06 am

    Gorgeous! Love your presentation! Bacon makes everything better! Bet these tasted delicious!

  7. November 21, 2011 9:05 am

    You have definitely changed the corn muffin into something special here. Love the flavors, no doubt these are addictive little gems, Between your description of the taste as well as the picture-no doubt this is recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing.

  8. November 21, 2011 11:15 am

    These look delicious! I love cornmeal muffins and your cream cheese topping takes it off the charts!

  9. bananamondaes permalink
    November 21, 2011 3:16 pm

    I just made these for my dinner with some pumpkin soup! Delicious. I added in some mature cheddar and topped with parmesan as well – sooo good. Thanks for sharing.

    • November 21, 2011 4:02 pm

      I’m so glad you like them!! cheddar and parmesan sound like great additions-I’ve never thought of that!

  10. November 21, 2011 5:46 pm

    How delightful! I’m a huge dork for the holidays too – I start dreaming menus far too early! A very happy birthday to your daughter! Cornbread and bacon are something alone to celebrate!

  11. November 21, 2011 7:39 pm

    Basically…..there is nothing that I don’t love about this recipe. Well done. This is amazing. Count me as a fan.

  12. November 21, 2011 7:47 pm

    I am loving this. I have to send this to a friend of mine who loves everything bacon related. Just wonderful. Congrats on top 9!

  13. November 27, 2011 7:17 pm

    This looks great! I’m looking forward to adapting this fabulous looking recipe into a vegetarian one. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

