Skip to content

Eggnog French Toast

December 6, 2011

For the first time since Thanksgiving I actually cooked a home made meal and ate with the entire family.  At home.  At one time.  My one daughter pursed her lips and refused to eat anything.  My son kept trying to escape from the table and see what gravity does when you bounce a cup full of juice up.  And my oldest daughter decided that she must mother the other two and insist they “must try the dinner because it is sooo good” and “Mommy, if you give Gabe back his juice he’ll stop crying” in her best Little house on the prairie voice.  It was fun.  Really.  We should try it more often.

Since apparently I didn’t get enough last night and figured I would redeem myself with our (usually) Christmas only breakfast of eggnog french toast this morning.  In the space of the 5 minutes it takes to prepare this I heard; “Mommy, I don’t remember eggnog french toast-when you did you make this again?”,  “I don’t like that bread, can I have a different bread?”, and “can I have rice krispies instead with a glass of eggnog?”, “why do I have to get dressed now? I want to watch you make it!”.  Note to self, don’t make breakfast on school mornings, stick to cereal.  Oh and the french toast, it was delicious!  Eggnog-y, spicy and sweet, a crisp golden brown outside with a custard center.  This is a holiday breakfast must!  (For winter break that is lol).

Eggnog French Toast

Adapted from Stewarts
Yields 3 servings

Ingredients:

6 slices challah bread (cut about 1 inch thick)
3 large eggs
1 1/2 cups eggnog
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

butter for pan

Directions:

1. In a medium mixing bowl whisk the eggs lightly.  Whisk in the eggnog until completely combined.  Add the vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg.

2. Set skillet over medium-low heat.  Pour the eggnog mixture into a pan just large enough to hold up to 2 pieces of bread (I find a 9 inch cake pan works great!).  Soak each side of bread for about a minute.  Lightly butter the hot pan and immediately place the soaked bread down.  Cook each side until it’s golden brown.  You can serve immediately with butter and syrup, keep it warm in a 200 degree oven until it’s all cooked or wrap in plastic wrap and freeze for later  🙂  Enjoy!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2011 10:06 am

    Oooh, I love eggnog (one of the great holiday foods I’ve discovered since coming to the U.S.), and I bet that was the most delicious French toast ever! 🙂 I’d love to try this.

  2. December 6, 2011 11:52 am

    Too funny, this was my next planned post! With an eggnog syrup! Lol… Great minds, right? 🙂 This looks so yummy!

  3. December 6, 2011 1:32 pm

    holy cow! what have you done?! I have to make this for breakfast tomorrow or should it be dinner tonight. love the eggnog syrup! thanks for sharing.

  4. December 6, 2011 3:00 pm

    ha-your kids really keep you on your toes-never know what they will do or say! I would have given away rice krispies any day for this french toast-yum! Your picture looks no less than heavenly. I am definitely ready to eat some french toast, made with egg nog no doubt-yum!

  5. December 6, 2011 4:07 pm

    OMG!!! What a brilliant idea. You are a genius. Breakfast with the family will be amazing if I make this.

  6. December 7, 2011 8:05 am

    The joys of motherhood. This is soon to be a family fave and I’ll have mine with a side of bacon please!

  7. December 9, 2011 8:15 am

    My kind of French Toast! YUM!

Trackbacks

  1. Pear Tarte Tatin with Red Wine Caramel « the purple spoon

Leave a Reply

