Skip to content

Magic Coconut Macaroons

December 8, 2011

My favorite holiday magazines are always from Martha Stewart, they’re like pinterest, I feel super creative and crafty after looking through but in actuality I haven’t done anything.   I’m still not sure how “normal” people have time for half the stuff in her latest issue (graphic designed garland stars up the side of your house anyone?!) but I’m working on my cookie list for gift boxes now and I like to start with her recipes for inspiration because I trust her (or her editors).

I’ve been making these macaroons for my gift boxes for years now.  I like the traditional moist coconut mounds with a bite of dark chocolate here and there but sometimes I really need to satisfy my sweet tooth.  Hopefully you’ve had (or heard of) 7 layer magic bars (or monster cookies).  I mean you gotta love any treat that you just layer and bake and comes out that good!  I wanted to re-create that flavor in these easy to eat cookies without complicating the recipe since macaroons are so quick to throw together.  So I just added butterscotch chips and pecans to the dark chocolate already in the recipe and they came out fantastic!  All it’s really missing is the graham cracker crust (I almost sprinkled them but I was eating them quicker than I could take pictures!) but even without that these are everything a coconut macaroon/magic bar could deliver; sweet, addictive and satisfying.

Coconut Macaroons
Adapted from Martha Stewart Holiday Magazine
Yields approximately 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

2 large egg whites
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 3/4 cups shredded sweetened coconut
1/4 cup chocolate chips
1/4 cup butterscotch chips
1/4 cup chopped pecans

For traditional coconut macaroons substitute the chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, and pecans for 1/2 cup bittersweet chocolate chunks and add in another 1/4 cup shredded coconut.

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees (F).  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

2. Whisk egg whites and salt in a medium mixing bowl until foamy.  Gradually whisk in the sugar and continue whisking until the mixture is shiny and thick.  Whisk in the vanilla.  Fold in the coconut, chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, and pecans.

3. Using a small cookie scoop or tablespoon, portion out the batter onto the baking sheet 1 inch apart from each other.  Bake for 18-22 minutes, rotating halfway through, until the cookies are golden brown on the bottom.  Remove from oven and transfer cookies to a cooling rack to cool completely.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2011 12:09 pm

    Holy moley! I was just telling someone else how I am seriously addicted to magic bars, and this might just be a somewhat lighter, more bite sized alternative. Looks amazing! 🙂

  2. bananamondaes permalink
    December 8, 2011 12:21 pm

    Oooh they look so delicate and yummy!

  3. December 8, 2011 2:27 pm

    Both stunning and delicious! You can’t go wrong with that list of ingredients-yum! Magic-yes, watch them magically disappear as your guests devour them.

  4. December 8, 2011 4:14 pm

    Yummy coconut macarons. Delicious!

  5. December 8, 2011 7:06 pm

    love the twist 🙂

  6. December 9, 2011 3:03 am

    I love what you do with these macaroons! They look wonderful. And I agree about pintrest/martha stewart. I always have tons of craft projects on my to-do list, but I would only have time for them if someone added another 4 hours to each day!!!!!

  7. December 9, 2011 8:36 am

    Oh wow these are some amazing looking macaroons! 🙂

  8. December 9, 2011 11:01 am

    Holy yum! that chocolate drizzle on top just makes these perfect!

  9. December 10, 2011 12:50 am

    Congrats on the top 9 – I think I have fallen in *love* with these macaroons!

    YUM!!!

  10. December 10, 2011 6:32 pm

    Can not wait to make these for my dad 🙂 sounds very yummy!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Let’s make Christmas – five easy homemade present ideas! « kerrycooks

Leave a Reply

