Skip to content

A klutz with a (Christmas) cookie

December 21, 2011

I didn’t realize until this past weekend that I have inherited my Grandfather’s “klutz” gene.  Piggybacking that gene is the “ditzy” gene (I won’t say where that’s from 😉 ) and the two combined just don’t work!  Friday I was part of a team that catered a holiday party and as the first to arrive at the kitchen I “preheated” the oven.  Fast forward an hour and we’re all standing around wondering why the oven still isn’t warm.  Umm, it would help to turn the oven on for it to heat up now wouldn’t it!  Saturday I hosted a family dessert party at my house.  I was making mini red velvet cupcakes and wanted to halve my recipe so I wouldn’t end up with a million of the little gals.  All went well until the very end when I realized I had halved everything but the eggs…we ended up with surprisingly moist little red cupcakes that for some reason didn’t taste like red velvet at all!

After all that baking for days on end we decided that after church on Sunday we would just have a frozen pizza (I have a not-so-secret addiction to digiornos pepperoni pizza lol).  OK, when they give you a number to call for instructions on cooking 2 pizzas at once; call it.  A half hour, 1 raw pizza, 1 smoking pizza and an incessant fire alarm later I grabbed the 400 degree pan off the top of the stove with my bare hand.  Yes my friends, my busiest baking week all year and I have a half burnt, non useful left hand.  So I apologize for my lack of delicious, inspiring Holiday desserts and give you some pretty pictures instead 🙂

I know there are hundreds (millions?) of snowflake and Christmas tree sugar cookies around but it’s December, they’re expected 🙂  Next year when I remember to wear oven mitts perhaps I’ll remember to do more “original” Christmas cookies!

For some last minute baking ideas:

Decorated Sugar cookies
Rugelach
Red Velvet Cheesecake
Dark Chocolate Bourbon Tart 
Chocolate coffee mini-cakes 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2011 10:22 am

    The cookies are very pretty and I feel your pain girlie! Thought I was the only one with kitchen mishaps like that. Time for some well deserved rest.

  2. December 21, 2011 12:41 pm

    Your cookies look so perfect, so cute. Those are perfect as a Christmas present. Thanks for sharing.

  3. December 21, 2011 3:54 pm

    There may be a lot of snowflake cookies out there but none like these! I like the extra bright color you used over the base frosting-stunning.
    I have had my share of mistakes in the kitchen, but I believe that that is just a sign I need to take a break.

  4. alyssa permalink
    December 22, 2011 2:39 am

    Cute cookies and sorry about your bad kitchen luck this week. I’m the queen of starting a baking project only to realize I have no eggs.

Leave a Reply

