Skip to content

A recap of 2011: the favs and the faqs

December 30, 2011

Wow, so I cannot believe it’s really the end of 2011 (umm, I’m pretty sure it was just March) and I really can’t believe that I’ve been blogging for almost a year!!  I had no idea how much fun it would be!! (and how much time it actually takes!)

Seriously though, thank you so much for every single comment and email, I get way more excited than an adult should over a comment on a recipe 🙂  But my confections are like my babies and it’s been so much fun to share them with you!

So here are my top 5 favorite posts from this year 🙂

1. Pecan Sticky Buns

Brown sugar, butter, pecans in an ooey-gooey mess smothering warm, yeast-y buns.  They were the reason I decided I needed to blog, something this good has to be shared.

2. Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes

I had an awesome birthday this past year, these cupcakes made it even more awesome.

3. Chocolate Coffee Mini-Cakes with a walnut espresso ganache

It’s chocolate and coffee.  Do I really need to elaborate?  This is by far the best ganache ever.

4. Apple Cider Doughnut Cupcakes

I really just wanted to make some doughnuts but somehow these were born.  I’m so glad, because these are so good!

5. Dark Chocolate Bourbon Tart

This is probably my most baked item this year (other than chocolate cupcakes in their many forms).  It’s simple, it’s decadent and it takes less than an hour from start to finish.  It was love at first bite.

And some random faqs because I’m sure you’re dying to know…

The most viewed post: Apple Cider Doughnut Cupcakes

The most shared post: Peanut Butter Blossoms

The least viewed post: Pink Heart Sugar Cookies

My favorite ingredient: butter.  I’m convinced it’s the answer to pretty much any baking or cooking dilemma.

I like to wear socks when I bake.  I don’t know why, I’ve just always liked to wear socks in the kitchen.

I hate tomatoes and mayonnaise.  They are cringe-inducing.

My favorite kitchen purchase this year were my purple bowls.  They totally rock and I’m sure they make food taste better.

I’m a bit bossy.  I think it comes with being the oldest child.

I’m way more accident prone than I thought!  My poor left hand has been through a lot this past year 🙂

My baking goals for next year: bread, bread and more bread!  I don’t have a phobia of corn syrup but I don’t believe it belongs in my bread, so I would like to get to the point where I only feed my family bread I’ve baked.  That and candy because I have an insane sweet tooth.

Thank you again for reading and sharing with me this past year! It’s been fun and I’m really looking forward to more baking next year!!

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2011 11:45 am

    I can absolutely relate to your post- this was also my first year Blogging and have absolutely fell in love with it ; I am known to get a little over exicted about comments too!

  2. December 30, 2011 7:10 pm

    Love the faqs 🙂 These are look so wonderful!
    Happy New Year!

  3. December 31, 2011 8:09 am

    Glad that your did this recap-looks like I had missed some of your delicious posts. Love the apple cider donut cupcakes, saved that recipe. I look forward to more of your delicious posts in 2012. Happy New Year!

  4. Angie permalink
    December 31, 2011 2:13 pm

    Thanks for blogging Linda! I’m not a huge baker (I get more into crafty stuff with yarn lol!) but I just love to read your blog, so that must say a lot about your style! 😀

  5. January 1, 2012 3:42 pm

    NOM NOM NOM!! So good; just came across your site from your cake pop feature from KC Bakes 🙂

Leave a Reply

