Skip to content

Individual Grand Marnier Souffles

December 31, 2011

It’s my 100th post!!  Ok, so it’s not as exciting as I thought it would be (although wordpress sends me a little congrats lol) but something Grand is in order.  Something along the lines of a Grand Marnier Souffle perhaps?  I really wanted to make this earlier in the week for you because it would make a fantastic New Year’s Dessert but it makes about 9 of these little things and truthfully my husband and I shouldn’t eat 9 souffles (we would out of necessity though).  Thankfully it wasn’t necessary as we had a (quite yummy) belated Christmas dinner with my in-laws last night!  Between my father in laws home made pasta and my mother in laws home made sauce, it was delicious and filling.

My father in law had also made an outrageous rum cake (that I just remembered is sitting on my counter…excuse me for a minute 🙂 ).  But they were kind and obliging and let me whip up these souffles to add to the mix!

Souffle is one of those tricky desserts that has to be eaten right away before it falls flat and loses its wow factor (I must have been nervous they would fall because all my pictures are shaky!).  Other than that it’s not a hard dessert to make.  They puff up super high and have a nice golden crust while the inside is airy (yet indulgent)  and custard like.  These were really fantastic with a slight orange flavor from the zest and grand marnier.  I would have liked to serve it with a raspberry coulis but we went with ease and had fresh raspberries instead.  Regardless this is one of those “must-make” desserts; rich but light and just incredibly delicious!

I wish you all a Happy New Year, I’ll “see” you next year!

Individual Grand Marnier Souffles
Yields 9-10 servings
Adapted from Joy of Cooking and the January 2012 issue of Bon Appetit

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened (plus extra for the ramekins)
2 tablespoons flour
1 cup heavy cream
1/3 cup sugar (plus extra for the ramekins)
zest of 1 large orange
5 large egg yolks, at room temperature
1/3 cup grand marnier
6 large egg whites, at room temperature
1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/8 teaspoon salt

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Liberally butter and sugar 10 (6 ounce) ramekins, set on a baking sheet and place them in the refrigerator.

2. Melt butter over medium low heat and whisk in flour, cook for 1 minute.  Remove from heat and whisk in heavy cream, sugar and orange zest.  Return to stove top and whisk constantly over medium heat just until it comes to a boil.  Remove from heat and set aside briefly.

3. Place the egg yolks in a large bowl and whisk until lightened and slightly thickened.  Slowly whisk the heavy cream mixture into the egg yolks, whisking constantly until completely combined.  Stir in the grand marnier.

4. Place the egg whites in the bowl of a standing mixer (or large bowl with handheld electric mixer) and beat on medium high until foamy.  Add the cream of tartar and salt.  Beat on high until the egg whites are stiff but still shiny.

5. Gently stir 1/3 of the egg whites into the grand marnier batter.  Once incorporated, fold in the remaining egg whites in two additions.

6. Take the ramekins out of the refrigerator and portion the batter among them, filling each ramekin about 3/4 full.  At this point you can either cover them with another baking sheet and set aside for up to one hour or you can bake them right away.

7. To bake: Set the baking sheet with (uncovered) ramekins in the preheated oven.  Bake for 12-15 minutes or until very puffed, golden brown, and a skewer inserted in the side comes out clean or with moist crumbs.  Serve immediately!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2011 11:58 am

    Congrats on the 100th post! This one looks to be the perfect 100th, your picture is so enticing. Due to lack of a smaller bottle at the liquor store, I had to get a gigantic bottle of it. This does look like a wonderful use for it. I can only hope to have something as fluffy and delicious as your talented creation here. Well done!
    Have a happy New Year!

    • January 1, 2012 8:25 am

      lol Tina, at the liquor store the man asked if I wanted the $50 bottle or the $75 bottle…umm neither?! I lucked out though because they had the tiny “individual” bottles at the register. Thanks for the congrats and happy new year!

  2. bananamondaes permalink
    December 31, 2011 1:25 pm

    These look soo good. Fluffy and light and anything with Grand Marnier in I am a fan. Congrats on your 100th post as well.

  3. Angie permalink
    December 31, 2011 2:09 pm

    Oooh these look delish! Happy new year!

  4. January 2, 2012 9:27 am

    Congratulations on your 100th post.! These souffles look so good, and what a wonderful way to use the Grand Marnier:) I have new ramekins, so i’ll have to try these, but I will probavby try to cut the recipe in half.

    Congrats on the Top 9 today!

  5. January 2, 2012 9:19 pm

    Oh these look so delicious. I’ve only ever had a chocolate souffle so I would love to try this!

  6. January 3, 2012 6:09 pm

    Looks wonderful! I adore souffles, and am terrified to try making them myself. I really must conquer my fear there, your treats look amazing 🙂

  7. January 4, 2012 7:05 pm

    Happy 100th post and congratulations 🙂 Grand Marnier Souffle sounds so delightful…a must try!
    Happy New Year!

  8. January 5, 2012 1:05 pm

    One look at your site and I said sign me up for that! The Grand Marnier souffle looks outstanding! Thanks and hope you’re having a delectable New Year!

  9. January 7, 2012 10:11 am

    Oh, my…I’m SO impressed with these beauties!!! Perfect souffles!

  10. January 10, 2012 5:56 pm

    One of my must make recipes for 2012 is soufflés! I’m not sure I would like an orange soufflé, so I would probably swap Grand Marnier for something else maybe something coconuty or kirsh. Although with your soufflés looking so perfect I would be loathe to change anything in hopes mine came out so well!

    • January 10, 2012 8:30 pm

      thank you! I’ve done chocolate souffles but I haven’t tried any other liquors though-I say go for it, something coconuty sounds fabulous! I may try that myself!

  11. January 11, 2012 9:02 pm

    Wow! this can be easily changed to gluten free. The texture is perfect and I love orange zest in baked goods.

Trackbacks

  1. Pecan Streusel Stuffed Cupcakes with Grand Marnier Buttercream « the purple spoon

Leave a Reply

