Skip to content

Chewy Granola Bars

January 10, 2012

I love my mother.  She is famous for saying things like; “I have lentils and brown rice you could have!” when you’ve just pined for buffalo wings.  She raised us on home garden grown vegetables and brown rice (which I often doused in soy sauce to stomach) and never ever bought white bread or dunkaroos or fruit roll-ups even with my persistence that all the cool kids had that stuff.  So it shouldn’t have surprised me when I recently developed an infatuation with reading ingredient labels on products I’ve been buying for years.  I thought I’d been buying a pretty good bread (you know the whole grain packed with stuff kind that kids turn their noses up at) but it turns out that even that had corn syrup in it.  Now I am not against corn syrup nor am I against buying packaged bread but something about the 2 combined just didn’t sit well with me!  Corn syrup belongs in ganache to make it shiny not the bread I’m making my kids lunch out of!  Oh hello, is that my mother talking?! so I guess a little of her all natural “stuff” rubbed off on me.

I’m probably rambling now but I said all that to say that amongst my label reading and childhood reflecting I figured I’d play around with some of my kids snacks.  My daughter’s did most of the work on this one and they came out quite yummy.  Actually they were very addicting!  Super easy, just sweet enough, very adaptable and nice and chewy.  These have become a favorite afternoon snack for adults and kids alike 🙂  I used almonds and currants but the variations are endless so have fun!

Chewy Granola Bars
Adapted from Allrecipes
Yields 22 bars

Ingredients:

2 cups rolled oats
1 cup all purpose flour (or whole wheat flour)
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup wheat germ
3/4 cup currants
1/2 cup slivered almonds
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup honey
1 egg, beaten
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F).  Line a baking sheet or baking pan (at least 9×13 inches in size) with parchment paper.  Spray the parchment paper with non stick cooking spray evenly to coat and set aside.

In a large bowl stir together the oats, flour, brown sugar, wheat germ, currants, almonds, cinnamon and salt.

2. Make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients and add all together the honey, egg, vegetable oil and vanilla extract.  (You could combine these all together in another bowl and then add but whatever you feel is easier)  Mix the mixture with a wooden spoon or by hand until the dry ingredients are completed coated.

3. Pat the granola mix into a 11 inch by 7 inch rectangle on your baking sheet or pan, flattening the top so it’s all even.  Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the edges are lightly browned and the middle is puffed.  Let the bars cool in the pan for about 10 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool for another 30 minutes before cutting them.  (Keep them on their parchment paper-just move the whole thing, this will make moving them easier since you’ll have to move them again to cut!)

4. Move the bars (on their parchment paper) to a cutting board.  Cut the rectangle in half length-wise and then cut each side into 1 inch wide bars.  Let the bars cool completely before storing them in an airtight container.  The flavor improves even more after a day.  Enjoy!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2012 8:51 am

    Thanks Linda! You made my day and I know your granola is delicious. As I am not eating any sugar can you adapt the recipe without it? Can I just subtract the sugar and keep the rest of the recipe intact? Love you Lots! -your mother

    • January 10, 2012 9:49 am

      mommy!! I haven’t made this recipe without sugar but I’m sure you could omit it although the texture may be slightly different, try adding a little more honey for sweetness or you could use unsweetened applesauce as an alternative 🙂

  2. January 10, 2012 10:21 am

    Wow, sounds like you grew up with wonderful nutrition! I can’t say the same is true for me…
    These look wonderful – I love my granola bars chewy and thick. Great recipe!

  3. January 10, 2012 1:49 pm

    Homemade granola bars taste so much better too! Once you have them, you’ll never want to go back to packaged ones again!

  4. January 10, 2012 10:53 pm

    I’ve never made granola bars but you’re inspiring me to experiment!

  5. alyssa permalink
    January 11, 2012 6:34 am

    I’ve made granola bars before, but they never turned out that pretty. I agree, even when you think you’re buying something healthy for the family it can be loaded with not so great stuff.

  6. January 11, 2012 10:12 am

    I love everything made from granola, yours have a perfect shape and looks delicious, I have made before, but it’s hasn’t perfect shape like yours

  7. January 11, 2012 10:49 am

    My mother used to make granola bars all the time when I was a kid, but something I have not tried. These do look wonderful and pretty easy to make 🙂

  8. January 11, 2012 7:38 pm

    This is a great snack to make at home when you consider all the stuff that is in the granola snacks at the grocers. These do look chewy and delicious-yum!

  9. January 12, 2012 6:47 am

    How utterly and deliciously wonderful. Thank you so very much for sharing!

  10. January 12, 2012 11:10 am

    Perfect recipe for the new year.

  11. January 12, 2012 12:00 pm

    Thanks for sharing this. I’ve always made my own granola, but haven’t found a granola bar recipe that I liked, so I’ll give this a try. PS my granola recipe is on my blog, feel free to visit. Clare

  12. January 12, 2012 12:30 pm

    I love a good chewy granola bar! For another version, check out my recipe!
    http://allykayler.blogspot.com/2011/09/46.html
    xo

  13. January 12, 2012 1:18 pm

    Congrats on Top 9 ! Your mother sounds like me. I have a teenager daughter who sometimes get upset, when I say, this is what you have on the table. I especially made Nutella granola bars for her and she was like, Mom there is not enough Nutella in it.
    THANKS FOR SHARING THIS LOVELY RECIPE. SIGNING UP FOR EMAIL.

  14. Kristina permalink
    January 16, 2012 9:54 am

    I’m a granola bar junkie, I eat at least one every day! I’ve always wanted to make my own, just haven’t gotten around to it yet. Can’t wait to try these! They look delicious!

  15. Breanne permalink
    April 30, 2014 10:14 pm

    Made these with mini chocolate chips and the 4 boys
    LOVED them! Going on a trip and making 2 batches, one with the chocolate chips and one with cranberries and almonds 🙂 Thanks

Leave a Reply

