Skip to content

The Revamped Boston Cream Doughnut

February 1, 2012

Donuts.  Is there anything they can’t do? -Homer Simpson.  I actually feel kind of bad for doughnuts.  For a sweet with so much potential they’ve been commercialized and sold to us smothered in sugar, filled with overly sweet, uber-fake fillings and often on the slightly stale side.  They’re seen at every meeting, have quite a rap with a certain profession and are the bane of Homer Simpson’s existence.  Such a shame for such a delicacy.

I love doughnuts but for as big of a sweet tooth as I have you’d think I’d like a wider variety of doughnuts.  For years I only ate the chocolate frosted kind, I’d pick off all the dough part first and save the ring of chocolate for last.  It’s completely gross now that I think about it!

I swore I’d never buy a doughnut again after the last time I made them.  Somehow that didn’t happen as it has taken me this long to make another doughnut!  They are scrumptious and photogenic little things and since I’m low on wit lately, I bring you the doughnut, revamped.

Now truly, this is what I had imagined a boston cream doughnut should taste like.  Yeasty, fluffy doughnuts filled with rich vanilla bean pastry cream and smothered in dark chocolate ganache.

For even more step by step photos on making doughnuts visit my other doughnut post.

Revamped Boston Cream Doughnuts
Yields approximately 2 dozen doughnuts

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups milk
6 tablespoons butter, softened and cut in pieces
1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste (optional)
2 packages active dry yeast
1/3 cup warm water (105 to 115 degrees F)
1/2 teaspoon sugar
2 eggs, beaten and at room temperature
1/3 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
5-6 cups flour, plus more for rolling out
10 cups vegetable oil for frying

Pastry Cream

1 cup heavy cream
1 cup bittersweet or semi sweet chocolate, chopped

Directions:

1. Warm the milk in a medium saucepan over medium heat just until warm enough to melt the butter. Place the butter and vanilla bean paste in a bowl and pour warmed milk over. Set aside.

2. In a small bowl sprinkle the yeast over the warm water and 1/2 teaspoon sugar.  Let stand 5 minutes or until creamy.

3. Pour the yeast mixture into the large bowl of a stand mixer and add the milk and melted butter, first making sure the milk and butter has cooled to lukewarm. Add the eggs, sugar, salt and 1 cup of flour. Using the paddle attachment, combine the ingredients on low speed until flour is incorporated and then turn the speed up to medium and beat until well combined. Add the remaining flour, 1 cup at a time, combining on low speed at first, and then increase the speed to medium and beat well. Change to the dough hook attachment of the mixer and beat on medium speed until the dough pulls away from the bowl and becomes smooth, approximately 5 to 10 minutes. Transfer to a well-oiled bowl, cover with plastic wrap, and let rise for 1 hour or until doubled in size.

4. Punch down the dough and let it rest for a couple minutes.  On a well-floured surface, roll out dough to 1/2-inch thick. Cut out dough using a 2 inch doughnut cutter or pastry ring. Set on baking sheet lined with parchment paper, cover lightly with plastic wrap sprayed with non-stick cooking spray, and let rise for another 30 minutes.  While dough is rising heat oil in a deep fryer or dutch oven to 365 degrees F.

5. Gently place the doughnuts into the oil, 2 at a time. Cook for 1 minute per side or until the oil stops bubbling around it. Transfer to a cooling placed in baking pan. Allow to cool for 10 to 15 minutes prior to filling.

6. To make the ganache: In a medium saucepan, warm the heavy cream just until it bubbles around the edges.  Remove from heat.  Whisk in chocolate until smooth.  Set aside to cool and thicken for 10 minutes.

Place pastry cream in a pastry bag fitted with a long plain tip (see picture), poke the tip into the center of each doughnut (entering from the side) and squeeze in some of the cream. Ice the top with the ganache .

Doughnuts are best eaten fresh with coffee :)

24 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2012 1:13 pm

    These are adorable! When I was kid we were only allowed to have one doughnut on Sundays… I’d always get a boston cream (and yes they were awesome when you were 8 and too much sugar wasn’t an option) but I had one again a while back and they weren’t the same! The processed cream kinda grossed me out, but these homemade ones look delicious! And its hard to beat homemade doughnuts, these look amazing 🙂

  2. February 1, 2012 4:31 pm

    Oh my gosh, those look wonderful–perfect for Valentine’s day!

  3. February 1, 2012 5:16 pm

    This is about the most delicious donut I have seen in a long time! Boston cream is an awesome flavor choice. Will the bakery be open on the 14th, for I am surely wanting some for Valentine’s!

  4. February 1, 2012 5:27 pm

    Wow, these are probably the prettiest donuts I’ve ever seen, and I don’t even like donuts! My wife would adore these.

  5. February 1, 2012 6:05 pm

    Yum! I’ve never seen homemade Boston Creme Doughnuts. They look so insanely good! I have that heart plate. Isn’t it so cute?

  6. February 1, 2012 7:17 pm

    Wow. These are so wonderful looking.

  7. February 1, 2012 8:21 pm

    Will you please come to my house and make about 5 dozen of these for me??? 😀

  8. February 2, 2012 3:31 pm

    These are too stinkin’ cute! Nicely done!! 🙂

  9. February 2, 2012 3:45 pm

    These are amazing! Perfect finger food! xx

  10. February 2, 2012 4:23 pm

    1. I still eat my chocolate donuts from the bottom up, saving the chocolatey goodness until the end.
    2. I adore Boston cream donuts.
    3. I would like you to mail me some Boston cream donuts.

    Sincerely,
    movita beaucoup

  11. February 3, 2012 4:07 am

    How cute! My husband LOVES boston cream doughnuts. This is perfect for Valentine’s day!

  12. lindathompson734 permalink
    February 3, 2012 4:53 pm

    I’m amazed they kept their shape when the cooked. Looks so yummy!

  13. February 6, 2012 7:08 am

    Wow, been way too long since I made donuts. These look incredible!

  14. Elle of Chellbellz permalink
    February 7, 2012 12:56 pm

    I get older i can respect creamy fillings…I’m not a big fan of the unknown when it comes to filled doughnuts, but since i’d practically know exactly whats inside of here. I definitely want to try these! You maam have earned yourself a new follower with this blog!! Can’t wait to see what else you come up with.

  15. February 10, 2012 1:55 pm

    Everything about this post is making my mouthwater much like you would envision Home Simpsons…mmm dooonuts 🙂

  16. Indra permalink
    March 7, 2012 12:41 pm

    Hi there! The donuts look amazinggg! btw, Can i know what flour you’re using? as in plain? self raising? and can i sub the vanilla paste with vanilla extract? Hope to hear from you soon! can wait to make them!

    • March 7, 2012 7:15 pm

      thank you! I used bread flour but you could use all purpose and yes you can substitute the vanilla extract! Good luck-they are awesome!

  17. Indra permalink
    March 8, 2012 12:12 pm

    Thank you for your fast reply! and a few more questions sorry about that. I can get quite confused with the ingredients as I’m from Singapore and we have different products.

    1)The sugar you use. Is it Caster sugar or Confectioner’s sugar?

    2) I bought the yeast packages today. Are they all a standard sizing? Mine is 1/4 oz(7grams) per packet.

    3) The butter is unsalted butter right?

    4) I got this for my heavy cream. are they the same?
    http://www.bullafoodservice.com.au/chilled-range/cream-products/thickened-cream/thickened-cream-300ml.html

Trackbacks

  1. Maple Pecan Muffins « the purple spoon

Leave a Reply

