Skip to content

Whipped Nutella in Phyllo Cups and Blog Awards

February 12, 2012

I’m totally cheating with this post 🙂  But lets be real…Valentine’s Day falls on a Tuesday this year and last time I checked no one gets a “holiday” for February 14th (and if you do, you need to let me know where you work! I want in!).  And how many of you want to get home after working 8 hours only to get all dressed up, sit in an overcrowded waiting area at the restaurant du jour only to be rushed through a mediocre fixe prix meal all in the name of “Love”.

Wow.  That all sounded kinda bitter…

Truth is I absolutely love Valentine’s Day but mostly because I love pink and hearts and all things girly.  I don’t love the feeling of obligation that surrounds it though.  Please don’t buy me a box of chocolates and take me out to eat because you feel like you have to.  I’d much prefer a quiet home cooked meal together, probably late in the evening after the kids have gone to bed, and only bring me flowers because you saw some that reminded you of me.

Simple is the best policy in my book and you can’t get much simpler then this.  Dreamy whipped nutella in crispy, buttery phyllo shells.  A complete make ahead dessert that you can whip up in no time so you can spend more time with your sweetheart this Valentine’s Day.

Assemble and garnish just before serving and you’ll look like you’ve spent all day in the kitchen (without spending all day in the kitchen!).  I hope you have a great Valentine’s Day 🙂

Whipped Nutella in Phyllo Cups
Yields 6 phyllo cups (you can save shells for later use)

Ingredients:

12 sheets of phyllo dough roughly 13.5″ X 8.5″-the basic stuff you find in the grocery store frozen food section
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup nutella
1 cup whipping cream

Garnish of your choice-berries would be great!

Directions:

1. Position a rack in the lower third of the oven and preheat the oven to 350 degrees (F).  Butter the insides and rims of 6 of a standard 12 cup muffin tin.

(1.) Stack the phyllo dough flat and cover with plastic wrap and a damp towel.  Place 1 sheet of phyllo on a work surface.  Brush the sheet evenly and lightly with melted butter and sprinkle a little sugar evenly over it.  Cover with a second sheet of phyllo and repeat butter and sugar as with the first layer.  Repeat 2 more times for a total of 4 layers of phyllo and ending with butter and sugar.  Using about a 3.5 inch heart shaped cookie cutter, cut around the edges of the heart with a thin sharp knife and mold into a muffin cup so that just the rounded peaks of the heart come up over the edge of the cup (see pictures).  Repeat two more times overlapping the bottom points of the hearts in the bottom of the muffin cup for a total of 3 hearts in each cup.  Then go back to step 1 and repeat 3 more times for a total of 6 phyllo cups.  (it sounds tedious, it really goes very quickly)

2. Bake in preheated oven until the pastry is golden brown, 10 minutes.  Remove from oven and let cool completely before carefully removing the cups from the tin.

3. Whipped Nutella:  Place the nutella and whipping cream in a large mixing bowl or bowl of a standing mixer.  Beat on low until the nutella is mixed in with the cream and then increase the speed to medium-high.  Beat the cream to medium peaks. Cover the bowl and refrigerate the whipped nutella for 4 hours (or overnight).

4. To serve:  Spoon the whipped nutella into each phyllo cup to desired amount and garnish with powdered sugar hearts or berries.  Serve immediately.

And now some blog awards!

Chandra from the Plaid and Paisley kitchen passed along the Liebster award to me early this week!

And then…

Jennie from The Messy Baker Blog gave me one just a day or so ago!

The Liebster Blog award means “favorite Blog” in German.  Thank you so much ladies!  So please visit their beautiful blogs at http://www.pandpkitchen.com/ and http://themessybakerblog.com/ and give them some love!  Chandra has a rather scrumptious looking strawberry cake up right now for Valentines Day 🙂

So part of receiving the award is to pass it along to 5 other bloggers so here are my 5:

Tina at http://www.flourtrader.blogspot.com/  Tina has the most creative desserts with the most creative names-I don’t know how she comes up with all of them!
Movita Beaucoup  I “lol” every time I read Movita’s posts that and she has awesome photos 🙂
Wilde in the Kitchen  I’ve been bookmarking recipes from here for what seems like forever!  If you like candy-go visit!
Jennifer at The three little piglets  Super sweet, beautiful recipes and with a name like “three little piglets” how can you go wrong?!
Liam at Buttercarb  If you like to laugh and eat pizza for breakfast then visit butter carb 🙂

Oh the Rules for this Award are:

1. Thank the person/persons that awarded you the blog and link to their blogs
2. Copy and Paste the Award Logo to your blog.  It is your award!!! = )
3. Send the Award to 5 Deserving Bloggers with 200 or less followers.   I don’t think I exactly followed this rule-truth be told I’m not really sure how many people follow these blogs but they deserve it 🙂
4. Let your Blog owners know about the award via email or blog comments

Thanks again!!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2012 9:25 am

    Thank you so much! What a sweetheart 😉

    Those Nutella phyllo cups.. *drool*

  2. February 12, 2012 2:36 pm

    Thanks so much for passing this special award to me, definitely an honor to be chosen!
    You did some wonderful creating here with the phyllo cups-love the flower shapes as well as the hear in the center. I have been hooked on phyllo since my first taste and the combination with the creamy nutella does make for a delicious dessert. Hope you are enjoying the weekend!

  3. February 12, 2012 2:36 pm

    ha-make that “heart” in the center!

  4. February 12, 2012 8:46 pm

    Thanks so much for the blog award! I really appreciate it! And this is such a great recipe that goes along with it, I wish I a cup to go along with the award 🙂

    • February 13, 2012 10:05 am

      🙂 you’re welcome! I’m still trying to work my way through your yummy candy recipes!

  5. February 13, 2012 9:46 am

    We all cheat sometimes, and anybody who doesn’t is just lying! Thanks so much for the sweet words and the award!!

  6. February 13, 2012 11:07 am

    That whipped Nutella looks amazing!! And congratulations on all of your awards!! I just awarded you something special on my blog too 🙂 ….http://whippedbaking.com/2012/02/12/caramel-swirl-fudge-nut-brownies/. You have one of my absolute favorite blogs! Thanks for sharing, look forward to more of your posts!

  7. February 13, 2012 1:52 pm

    So beautiful! 😀

  8. February 13, 2012 10:14 pm

    Wonderful post! I loved your sentiment about avoiding the sense of obligation for Valentine’s Day, but still giving into cliches like buying flowers if they are spontaneous, heartfelt gestures of real love. The flower shape of the phyllo cups is also so fun and playful, without being overly romantic.

  9. February 14, 2012 5:27 am

    Congrats on your blog award! I love anything Nutella, so I would go crazy for one of these (or two or three!) I agree, the reason I like Valentine’s Day the most is the pink hearts 🙂

  10. February 14, 2012 10:54 am

    I believe I have found my baking mentor in this blog. These are beautiful pix and wonderful recipes. So creative! Thanks.

  11. February 14, 2012 11:59 am

    What a cute idea! I love that you made the phyllo a heart. That is such a nice touch. Just lovely!

  12. February 14, 2012 2:28 pm

    Ooooh, yum! Whipped nutella sounds like a great idea, and these phyllo cups are such a cute way of serving it 🙂

  13. February 14, 2012 5:56 pm

    Love Tina’s blog and that’s what led me over to yours. Love the looks of this dessert.

  14. lovefoodcookfood permalink
    February 16, 2012 6:41 am

    Yum! These look very calorific. But who cares! 🙂

  15. February 17, 2012 1:39 pm

    These are delightful! Congratulations on your award 🙂

  16. February 25, 2012 8:54 am

    ooooh those nutella cups look like heaven!

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate Strawberry Shortcake « the purple spoon
  2. Ingredient Top Picks: Nutella | Desserts and other Sweet Daydreams

Leave a Reply

