Skip to content

Bakery Style Chocolate Chip Muffins

February 21, 2012

Salutations.  My name is Linda and I am a technophobe.  My husband is a saint for putting up with my attempts at new technology. I finally got the iphone 4s that I’ve been sulking for and the only apps I’ve added are my social media, voxer, instagram and wordpress (naturally).  But think of all the awesome business apps you could be using!  Oh babe, check this app out-so much fun! “I”ll get to it”, I say but honestly it’s really overwhelming!  It’s a miracle I can blog at all considering my first few posts literally took me half the day to figure out how to insert pictures and lay them out without them “moving” on me. I mustered up the courage to (finally!) buy a *real* domain name today for the blog.  You’ll see it soon…when I’ve stopped hyperventilating about things like certified domains and protected registration and how to transfer hosting… I just want to bake!  So if you randomly hear a high pitched shriek of terror mixed with frustration, I apologize, it’s just me, probably reading about servers and upgrades.

So back to that baking I just wanted to do 🙂

I like my carbs at breakfast time but its about the only time of day that I don’t want a sugar overload (well, most days).  I also don’t want to spend a lot of time on those carbs since I’m normally ravenous by the time I’ve showered, fed the kids and gotten them off to school.  This muffin is the perfect antidote.  It’s a good balance between fluffy and dense; the type of crumb that holds up well to breaking off chunks to eat 🙂 The cinnamon adds a nice breakfast-y touch and the occasional chocolate chip satiates the sweet tooth till snack time.

One year ago: Coconut Cupcakes

Bakery Style Chocolate Chip Muffins
Yields 9 muffins

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup sour cream or buttermilk (or combination!  I used 1/2 cup buttermilk and 1/4 sour cream since thats what I had)
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup chocolate chips
cinnamon-sugar (1/2 tablespoon sugar, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, combined)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Grease muffin cups or line with muffin liners.

2. In a medium bowl combine flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set aside.  In a small bowl (or 2 cup pyrex measuring cup) whisk together the sour cream or buttermilk, vegetable oil, egg, and vanilla. Gently mix this with flour mixture, just until combined (batter will be thick).

3. Scoop about 2 tablespoons of batter into each of the nine prepared muffin cups (this is rough measurements-I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup and scooped out about half the cup full). Sprinkle with 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon sugar each and spread an even layer of chocolate chips over it.  Top with the remaining batter, sprinkle with another 1/4-1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon sugar and the rest of the chocolate chips.

4. Bake for 18-22 minutes or until golden brown and a tester inserted in the middle comes out without batter.  Let cool slightly on a wire cooling rack and serve warm or at room temperature.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2012 7:46 am

    These sound amazing. I can totally relate to the technology issues. It took me weeks to set up my blog. Good luck with everything and congrats on the domain name.

  2. sammi richardson permalink
    February 21, 2012 7:50 am

    Hi,

    Wow! These muffins look delicious. I’m a big fan of chocolate. I work for Kamut International. I bet these muffins would be equally as delicious if made with Kamut wheat flour. Yum! Thanks for sharing.

    http://www.kamut.com

  3. February 21, 2012 9:28 am

    Oh man, those look SO good! Like phenomenal! I like how there aren’t too many chocolate chips, they are just kind of there waiting for you to be tempted.

  4. February 21, 2012 11:21 am

    Ooooh, the cinnamon sugar topping makes me so, so happy! Looks like fantastic treats!

  5. February 21, 2012 1:08 pm

    I am not a techie, so some of what you are doing is something I may need to do but am hesitating. Congrats on moving forward to your own domain name.
    The chocolate and cinnamon blend is a winning combination for a muffin-yum! They look so fluffy and tasty, great for a snack or breakfast.

  6. February 21, 2012 1:56 pm

    What can I say…I actually work at a technology company, a very big one, but each day when I leave the office I don’t want to know about tech things. At home I only use the computer for my blog, and that’s it. My cellphone is just that a cellphone, no camera, no music, nothing…just phone numbers…my husband can’t believe it.
    Now, the muffins…look spectacular, so big, so yummy. Never imagine to add cinnamon to a chocolate chip muffin, I will bake it to bring into my office.

  7. February 21, 2012 2:28 pm

    ooooh your muffins look perfect; I LOVE a good chocolate chip muffin with a sugary top- YUM!

  8. February 21, 2012 8:57 pm

    My husband and I got new phones at the same time – the same ones. After like two weeks he was complaining about the battery life and I mentioned I had no problem. He promptly responded that I didn’t use it to its full capabilities so I would not know.

    I guess I can leave the phones to him and keep the muffins for myself. These look super good!

  9. February 21, 2012 9:17 pm

    I’m the same way! My twelve year old constantly has to explain how to work my Ipod touch!!

    • February 23, 2012 8:33 am

      lol yeah, my 2 year old pretty much knows how to navigate my phone to get to youtube and watch Dora 🙂 so sad!

  10. February 22, 2012 2:27 am

    I’ve awarded you The Versatile Blogger Award…really enjoy reading your blog… Jules x

  11. February 22, 2012 10:12 am

    ooo yum! These sound perfect! I agree, I don’t like anything too sweet in the morning, I don’t even usually sweeten my oatmeal…but I definitely make up for it with dessert later on 🙂 These look so good for the morning, yum!

  12. February 22, 2012 3:12 pm

    I love the sprinkle of brown sugar/sugar ontop!

  13. February 22, 2012 7:48 pm

    BEUTIFUL!

  14. February 23, 2012 9:53 am

    Yum! I missed lunch and now I’m really craving these. I can totally see myself whipping them up as soon as I get home!

  15. February 23, 2012 3:49 pm

    First time here 🙂 Great blog!!! I love this recipe~ bakery style hehe perfect now I don’t need to spend $5 on a muffin that I can make at home WOO HOO! Congrats for being Top 9 on Foodbuzz!

  16. February 23, 2012 8:35 pm

    Congrats on making the top 9 on foodbuzz.com with this recipe. It really does look and sound delicious.

  17. February 24, 2012 10:51 am

    i just loved the topping…perfectly made muffins..

  18. February 26, 2012 10:54 pm

    Ugh, all the internet/computer things can be overwhelming – but muffins make everything better and these look perfect!

  19. February 27, 2012 12:03 pm

    Oh, wow these look seriously delicious and dangerous! And I have chocolate chips and sour cream so I’m making them today.

  20. February 29, 2012 6:18 pm

    Loving the look of these treasures… especially the cinnamon sugar topping!
    xo
    http://allykayler.blogspot.com/

  21. April 12, 2012 5:04 pm

    Your muffins are beautiful. This is my first time to this blog and I will definately be back.

  22. April 13, 2012 9:46 am

    Very nice and sweet… We like and love your recipe…

  23. May 19, 2012 8:56 am

    This morning I googled “bakery style chocolate chip muffins” and came across this recipe. Wow! It was just what I was looking for! Due to what was in my cupboard I used half whole wheat flour and half white bread flour. I also used plain yogurt for the sour cream/buttermilk. I felt like being a purist this morning and so stuck with the straight chocolate chips – though I sprinkled raw sugar on top for some crunch. Next time I make them I am definitely going to use the cinnamon sugar for a bit more flare.

    I doubled the recipe and got 11 regular sized muffins (with big tops!) and a dozen mini sized muffins. If I had stuck with regular size I probably would have yielded 15 or 16 muffins.

    Thanks for the great recipe!

Trackbacks

  1. Chunky White Chocolate Chip Cookies « the purple spoon

Leave a Reply

