Skip to content

Marble Cake

February 24, 2012


If there’s anything I like to do (almost) as much as baking it would be organizing (well that and shopping but normally if I’m organizing it means I shopped for something 🙂 ).  I just bought the Martha Stewart Special Edition Magazine about Organizing and I’ve spent more time than I should lovingly memorizing each page.  I’m now ready to tackle “the wall” in my kitchen.  What is “the wall”, you ask?  Well my kitchen is one long rectangle (I use the word “long” loosely)  and I like my kitchen, everything is new, the cabinets offer a good amount of space but when you walk in the back door the first thing you see is one blank wall with a lonely free-standing organizer that holds everything but can’t be used for anything! So I’m re-doing it 🙂  I want to add another work space as well as shelving for my growing collection of cake stands and baking equipment.

I’ve been thinking about all this because for the past month I’ve had two random cake stands making their way around the kitchen as we move them from one spot to another to get them out of the way of whatever we’re currently doing.  Finally I figured I should at least put a cake on one of them!

While I love a pretty layer cake all gussied up there’s something to be said for simple everyday cakes.  I love how pretty a marble cake is and this one is moist, flavorful and can be eaten plain or paired with numerous frostings 🙂  I did this one with a chocolate ganache frosting but to be honest, I scraped the frosting off mine and ate it plain.

Marble Cake
Yields 8 servings
Adapted from Magnolia’s Cupcakes and Martha Stewart

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons flour
1 1/8 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup milk, at room temperature
1/4 plus 1 tablespoon dutch processed cocoa powder

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F).  Line the bottom of a 9 inch round cake pan with parchment paper and butter and flour the bottom and sides of the pan.

In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder and salt and set aside.

2. In a large bowl, cream the butter at least 3 minutes.  Gradually add sugar and continue to beat until light and fluffy.  Add eggs one at a time, scraping down the bowl in between each addition.  Add flour in two parts alternating with the milk and vanilla.

3. Heat 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons of water in the microwave (in a microwave safe bowl…) for a minute or until steaming.  Whisk in the cocoa powder. Stir in 1/3 of the cake batter.  Spread a little over half of the remaining vanilla cake batter in the bottom of the prepared pan.  Pour all the chocolate batter over that layer and then spoon the rest of the vanilla cake batter over top.  Swirl the batters together a little with a knife or skewer by making a few figure 8’s.   Bake in preheated oven for 30-35 minutes or until the top springs back at touch and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.  Let cool in pan for 15 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

Frost if desired!  Some recommended frostings you could try are:

Chocolate Ganache frosting
French Icing (Creamy Vanilla Frosting)
Caramel Whipped Cream 

-I would just halve these recipes

And a shout out to Jules from Banana Mondaes for passing along the Versatile Blogger award to me!

Banana Mondaes is full of awesome and creative recipes based on children’s stories!  I think one of my favorites is the Trunchbull vs Matilda’s Chocolate cake.  Thank you so much Jules!!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2012 4:02 am

    This cake looks really amazing. I’m very impressed. Like the photo too – I shall return to view more of your wonderful creations!

  2. February 24, 2012 9:23 am

    Oh how I love marble cake! So delish!

  3. February 24, 2012 10:49 am

    wow..lovely marble cake…the frosting on it looks so heavenly

  4. February 24, 2012 12:09 pm

    Marble cake does have some amazing flavor! Like you, I would greatly enjoy it even without the frosting. It also makes for an awesome presentation with all those chocolatey swirls. Delicious post!

  5. February 24, 2012 1:49 pm

    A girl after my own heart! I LOVE to organize stuff! I should seriously start an organizing business I love it so much. It just makes me so calm and happy. Especially a well organized kitchen, Hope you take some good before and after shots!

  6. February 24, 2012 2:25 pm

    This cake is made for someone like me – chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate 😀
    And congratulations on the much deserved award – I love your kitchen!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Two Twix Fudgy “Whities”

  7. February 24, 2012 4:40 pm

    Oh this looks amazing! I always asked for marble cake for my birthday when I was little, and this looks perfectly indulgent 🙂

  8. February 25, 2012 3:20 am

    This looks heavenly ❤

  9. February 25, 2012 11:30 am

    When your kitchen is organized, can you come help me with mine???? This cake looks amazing…my family would jump for joy to find this for dessert 🙂

  10. February 26, 2012 12:07 am

    I hate to clean, but I love to organize. Especially when it comes to kitchen stuff. Very pretty cake!

  11. February 26, 2012 9:28 am

    I adore that first picture in your post. It made me drool a little. Thanks for starting my day on the right foot!

  12. February 26, 2012 9:15 pm

    Gotta love the classics!

  13. February 27, 2012 12:39 pm

    *swoon!* It looks amaaazing! and congrats on your award! ❤

  14. February 29, 2012 5:59 am

    This looks heavenly!!
    This is a must try
    x kat

  15. March 3, 2012 1:29 pm

    This marble looks so perfect, so good, so chocolaty! It makes me hungry. I will try this some day!

Trackbacks

  1. Butterscotch Creme Brulee « the purple spoon

Leave a Reply

