Skip to content

Raspberry Sour Cream Pancakes

February 28, 2012

Happy National (Ihop) Pancake Day!  And seeing that I missed the other national pancake day I couldn’t miss this one!  The last time we went to an Ihop Chloe was probably around 3 years old.  She had been standing in the booth (bad mommy!) peering over the divider when all of a sudden she got super excited!  “Look! there’s a puppy!” she remarked, pointing toward some curly white hair…her excitement dwindled upon closer inspection though and she shook her head, “no, that’s not a puppy, that’s just a Gramma.”

Unfortunately the pancakes didn’t leave as big of an impression as our silly daughter’s quips though since I can’t remember a thing about them.  However, as an avid carb lover, pancakes rank pretty high on my favorite breakfasts list.  My favorite addition will always be blueberries but every year or so I mix in something else 🙂  Yesterday morning it was raspberries and sour cream. And man were they good!  The pancakes were thick but still fluffy with the pleasant tang from the raspberries countered by a sweet cinnamon vanilla bean honey drizzled over top.

On a side note, I’ll be switching the domain over today so I’m pretty sure that at some point later tonight you’ll find me at thepurplespoonblog.com!  As I previously mentioned, I’m not sure how all this works so sorry if things go a little wacky 🙂

One Year Ago: Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes

Raspberry Sour Cream Pancakes with Cinnamon Vanilla Bean Honey
makes 6-8 pancakes

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour
3 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup sour cream, at room temperature
1/2 cup milk, at room temperature
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon lemon zest (optional)

6 ounces fresh raspberries

butter for greasing the griddle (slightly-we’re not deep frying the pancakes!)

Directions:

1. For the honey syrup: In a small sauce pan bring the honey, 1/3 cup water, cinnamon stick, vanilla bean paste and butter to a boil.  Adjust heat to maintain a slow simmer and cook for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Remove from heat and let cool slightly, the syrup will thicken as it cools.

2. For the pancakes: Preheat stove top or electric griddle to medium low (low if your burner runs insanely hot like mine).  Rinse and pat dry the raspberries and set aside.

3. Whisk together in a large bowl, flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Set aside.

4. In another bowl, whisk the sour cream, milk, butter, eggs, vanilla and lemon zest (If using). note: I set out the milk and eggs about 1-1 1/2 hours before I make the pancakes, the ingredients just come together better.*

5. Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and gently whisk them together, mixing just until combined.  Batter will be thick and slightly lumpy.

6. Using a 1/3 measuring cup, pour batter onto hot, greased griddle.  Scatter a few raspberries over the surface of the batter gently pressing them in.  Cook on first side until edges are slightly dry and un-popped bubbles appear on the surface.  Flip and cook until the underside is lightly browned.  Serve immediately or keep warm in a 200 degree (F) oven while you finish cooking the rest.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 8:15 am

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm Raspberry Pancakes. I want. All in and around my mouth. Fabulous recipe! Great job 😉

  2. February 28, 2012 8:41 am

    Fruit cooked in a pancake is really up there on my favorites list. This recipe with the sour cream does look like a good variation to try-they are really fluffy looking-yum! Also, I have to say the flavored honey on top is a great condiment to have around, I can think of many tasty uses for it. Great post!

  3. February 28, 2012 11:24 am

    Happy Pancake Day! These look yummy, yummy. I need to make pancakes much more often.

  4. February 28, 2012 1:46 pm

    These pancakes look heavenly – I think sour cream is definitely a great ingredient to add into them 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Enhanced Fruity Microwave Syrup Cake

  5. February 28, 2012 7:18 pm

    Oh my….I’m drooling! Really awesome post! I have bookmarked and will be making these. Many thanks for sharing 🙂

    Holly

  6. February 28, 2012 7:58 pm

    yummmm! I have a whole pint of raspberries in my fridge right now, I know exactly how I’m going to use them 🙂 These pancakes look awesome!

  7. February 29, 2012 1:24 am

    I love berrilicious pancakes! Who wouldn’t want to wake up to a plateful of these!! 😉

  8. February 29, 2012 5:26 am

    Happy belated pancake day! As much of a foodie as I am, I agree, the cute stuff your kids do always wins over any dish. I love your pancakes too 🙂

  9. February 29, 2012 8:41 am

    Oooh, I’ve never had fruit baked into pancakes, this looks amazing 🙂

  10. February 29, 2012 11:00 am

    These pancakes are making my mouth water! I love the raspberries in them.. so beautiful and scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

