Skip to content

Irish Cream Blondies

March 14, 2012

In the two weeks preceding Saint Patrick’s Day I tend to smother anything and everything in Bailey’s Irish Cream.  Last year it was cupcakes, earlier this month I did a scrumptious baileys cream cheese filled coffee cake with a baileys glaze, I really wanted to do a sticky bun with baileys glaze but not finding an extra 4 hours in any day to try them I opted for something slightly simpler.

I saw these beauties in the latest issue of Martha Stewart Magazine and I had to try them!  I mean butter, brown sugar, coffee and Irish cream?  Yes please!  The second time I made them I realized her recipe actually calls for Irish whiskey for the glaze but silly me just saw Irish and my thoughts immediately went to Irish Cream 🙂  I haven’t tried her whiskey version but I love these coffee filled, buttery blondies smothered in Baileys 🙂

One Year Ago: White Chocolate Brownies, Irish Cream Cupcakes, Irish Soda Bread

Irish Cream Blondies
Recipe from Martha Stewart Magazine March 2012
Yields 24 bars

Ingredients:

2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup (2 sticks) butter
2 cups light brown sugar, packed
3 tablespoons ground coffee
1 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
heaping 1/2 cup sliced almonds

1 tablespoon melted butter
2 tablespoons  Baileys Irish Cream
1/2 cup confectioners sugar

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (F).  Line a 9×13 inch baking pan with foil so that it comes up the sides with some overhang and spray liberally with non stick cooking spray, set aside.

2. In a small bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt and set aside.

3. Melt the butter in a small saucepan or in the microwave.  Whisk the melted butter into the brown sugar, coffee grinds and salt in a large mixing bowl.  Whisk in eggs, one at a time and vanilla.  Spread the batter into the prepared pan and sprinkle the almonds over the top.  Bake for 25-30 minutes or until the edges are golden brown and the middle drops.  Remove from oven and cool completely on a wire cooling rack.

4. Make the glaze by whisking the 1 tablespoon melted butter and Irish cream together in a small bowl.  Whisk in the confectioners sugar until smooth, lump-free and thick.  Drizzle the glaze over the blondies, cut into squares and eat!  These can be kept covered for up to 3 days.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2012 12:20 pm

    Forget the corned beef, I want these blondies for St. Patty’s Day!!!!

  2. March 14, 2012 1:09 pm

    To be honest, I’m not making a fuss of St. Patrick’s Day and never do. However, I’m glad others do – this recipe sounds incredible. I do love baileys… I shall drink some on the day I think, after a pint of guinness.

  3. March 14, 2012 2:36 pm

    Yes yes yes! How awesome. They look great!

  4. March 14, 2012 9:32 pm

    I could use a few of these in my life, as well as a bit more booze for St. Patrick’s Day. Yum!

  5. March 15, 2012 3:01 am

    Wow! I would love me some irish cream blondies. they look fantastic.

  6. March 15, 2012 9:54 am

    Wow, these look good. Great treat for St. Patricks Day!

  7. March 15, 2012 3:11 pm

    These have a lot of qualities that I like: they look chewy and have the flavor of coffee with a touch of Baileys-who can resist that? Delicious post!

  8. March 15, 2012 6:41 pm

    Looks great and who could object to Irish cream? Although when I cook with it I have a tendency to chug from the bottle 🙂

  9. March 16, 2012 10:42 am

    hahahs so I don’t even think there’s a hint of Irish in me but I’m still using St. Patty’s Day as an excuse to indulge in Bailey’s Cream… everything! These blondies look too good! I bought that Martha Magazine too and I don’t know how I missed this recipe, it sounds delicious!

  10. March 17, 2012 5:46 pm

    Mmm now this is my kind of blondie! What a perfect St. Patrick’s Day treat!

  11. March 18, 2012 9:59 pm

    Such a great treat to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day!

Leave a Reply

