Skip to content

Maple Walnut Oatmeal Pancakes

March 28, 2012

I have serious issues with the texture of food.  Or I should probably say I don’t like mushy food.  I’ve never liked cooked oatmeal, it took me years to finally try bread pudding (and I’ll still only eat my own), I loathe bananas.  So obviously I have some food problems to work out 🙂  The thing with oatmeal is that I love oats in all forms except cooked in liquid, oatmeal always smells fantastic but as a kid I would eat the melted butter and brown sugar off the top without actually touching the gooey oats.

So it was very odd when I woke up Sunday morning craving oats.  The summer-like weather had ended and I wanted something hearty but tasty to start the day off.  On a quick search for oatmeal pancakes Smitten Kitchen’s (naturally) came up first 🙂  Oh My.  These were one of the best pancakes I have ever had.  They were tender with a crisp edge, full of flavor with a nutty crunch.  I only made a few slight changes and these will definitely be added to my rotation of favorite breakfasts!

One Year Ago: Chocolate White Chip Cookies

Maple Walnut Oatmeal Pancakes
Yields approximately 16-18 pancakes
Recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients:

3/4 cup oat flour (you can make this by pulsing rolled oats in a food processor until finely ground, 1 cup of oats gave me about 3/4 cup oat flour)
1 cup all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoons salt
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly (plus extra for the pan)
1 1/4 cups whole milk
1 cup cooked oatmeal* (cooked with a dash of nutmeg and a tablespoon of maple syrup)
3 tablespoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon maple syrup
2 large eggs
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

Directions:

1. Preheat stove top or electric griddle to medium low (low if your burner runs insanely hot like mine).

2. Whisk together in a large bowl, oat flour, flour, baking powder, and salt.  Set aside.

4. In another bowl, whisk the milk, oatmeal, melted butter, eggs, brown sugar and maple syrup. note: I set out the milk and eggs about 1-1 1/2 hours before I make the pancakes, the ingredients just come together better.*

5. Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and gently whisk them together, mixing just until combined.  Fold in the chopped walnuts. Batter will be thick and slightly lumpy.

6. Using a 1/3 measuring cup, pour batter onto hot, greased griddle.  Cook on first side until edges are slightly dry and un-popped bubbles appear on the surface.  Flip and cook until the underside is lightly browned.  Serve immediately or keep warm in a 200 degree (F) oven while you finish cooking the rest.  Serve with butter and maple syrup 🙂

*to make the cooked oatmeal, stir together 1/2 cup oats, 1 cup water, dash of nutmeg and a tablespoon of maple syrup in a microwave safe bowl.  Microwave at full power for 2 minutes.  Stir and cook for an additional 30 seconds if still soupy.

And another blog award!!  A HUGE THANK YOU to Sara from Modern Alice for passing along the Versatile Blog Award to me!!

Thank you so much Sara 🙂

You can learn more about Sara and her blog by going here!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2012 11:41 am

    Mmmm, perfect breakfast!

  2. March 28, 2012 12:50 pm

    I never thought of using ground oats or even oatmeal in a pancake! This is one delicious way to get some whole grains. Glad to come across the recipe. Tempting photos as usual-yum! Have a great day!

  3. March 28, 2012 1:40 pm

    Thanks for sharing this! These look delicious and wholesome 🙂

  4. March 28, 2012 2:46 pm

    Oh! I haven’t visited you in such a long time … but these just drew me in today as I was cruising Foodbuzz! Perfect Saturday morning breakfast or a ‘breakfast for supper’ choice! The added fiber is really a great way of making them into diet fare also … with some spiced applesauce over top and just a smidge of maple syrup … yum!

  5. March 29, 2012 5:00 am

    Just what I need to start my day!

Leave a Reply

