Skip to content

Butterscotch Creme Brulee

April 2, 2012

I’m still working on the kitchen re-organization bit I talked about a few weeks ago.  I should say I’m still thinking about that kitchen re-organization because the truth is nothing has actually been accomplished.  I’ve been searching for some inspiration as well as table and shelving units and I’m not finding much that I like!  My time has also been cut by like 80% too so the only online sites I’ve visited are ikea and the container store.  I need your help!  Do you have any recommendations for where to buy kitchen shelving and storage units?  Or even sites for ideas?  I want to mount shelves on the wall for my cake pedestals and platters and then I want some sort of table top with open shelving at the bottom for my flours and sugars.  Doesn’t seem like it’d be that hard but maybe I’m just looking in all the wrong places 🙂  Better yet, if anyone wants to just send Martha my way and she can re-do it all, I would accept that 😉

But on to that creme brulee up there… I had to make it twice this week because the first time ended in 4 empty ramekins within 20 minutes of it coming out of the oven.  It’s that good.  First off, it’s super simple to make with a very short list of ingredients.  Secondly, the flavor is rich and buttery and just plain fantastic.  Third, it’s the kind of dessert that sounds like you spent a lot of time making it but you really only need about a half hour to an hour (and most of that is baking time!).  If I actually served this to anyone I’d probably garnish with some fresh berries or toasted pecans with whipped cream but I don’t know if I want to share this anytime soon 🙂

One Year Ago: Shepherd’s Pie “Cupcakes”

Butterscotch Creme Brulee
Yields 4 servings

Ingredients:

2 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon brown sugar
4 large egg yolks at room temperature
1 1/4 cups heavy cream (you can substitute up to half of this with whole milk)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
pinch of salt

4 tablespoons sugar (I’ve tried raw sugar, brown sugar and plain ol’ white sugar and I’ve found that white sugar melts the best)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees (F).  Place 4 (1/3-1/2 cup ramekins) in a 9×13 baking pan or other large baking pan with at least 2 inch sides.  Heat 4 cups of water to a boil and set aside (if you use a 9×13 baking pan you’ll only need 2 cups boiling water).

2.  Melt the butter in a small sauce pan over low heat, whisk in the brown sugar and continue whisking until the mixture comes to a boil.  Remove from the heat and set aside.

3. Place egg yolks in a medium bowl.  Pour the heavy cream in a medium saucepan and bring to a simmer.  Remove from heat and temper the eggs with the cream by slowly pouring the cream in a steady stream down the side of the bowl while constantly whisking the eggs.  Whisk in the melted sugar, vanilla and salt.  Once it is all combined strain the mixture through a mesh sieve into another bowl and then divide equally among the four ramekins.

4. Place the baking pan with the ramekins into the oven and then pour the boiling water inside the baking pan.  You want enough water to reach half way up the ramekins or 3/4 of an inch if you have deeper dishes.  Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the edges are set and the middle quivers still.  Remove the baking pan from the oven and let the ramekins cool in the water until room temperature.  Remove the ramekins with tongs (or just your hands-its room temp now!) and refrigerate overnight (or at least a couple hours until cold).

5. Sprinkle a tablespoon of sugar over each ramekin of cream and using a blow torch or a broiler, toast the sugar until it turns golden to dark brown and starts to bubble.  Let it cool for a few minutes to harden and serve immediately.

And since this is not a photo heavy post, here’s a glimpse at my week through instagram 🙂  I may or may not be slightly obsessed lol.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2012 12:58 pm

    Your creme brulee does look amazing! I have yet to attempt it, but it looks like you sailed through the process. Also, glad that it is butterscotch-delicious flavor although sometimes forgotten.
    Regarding your organization, I live in a small space and have told my husband it would be nice to have an interior designer organize it all for function, looks and space. I can dream can’t I? Good luck on getting everything in its place!

  2. April 2, 2012 5:28 pm

    Ooooo, butterscotch and creme brulee. Two of my favorite things together? I think i LOVE YOU 😀

  3. April 2, 2012 8:02 pm

    Ooooh, I am such a sucker for creme brulee! Butterscotch sounds like a great twist on the classic – well done!

  4. April 3, 2012 10:52 am

    Love, love, love butterscotch and creme brulee! What a wonderful pairing!

  5. April 3, 2012 3:51 pm

    Your week looks just fabulous! How did you like the Cabernet sorbet? And to top it off with Creme Brulee, a sweet ending 🙂

  6. April 3, 2012 11:49 pm

    Awww I looove butterscotch!! I wish people appreciated it as much as i don’t know chocolate chips…the butterscotch creme brulee looks sooo good! I woke up this morning to this blog post! Definitely making it as soon as it’s sunny and fabulous outside (we just had a tornado warning/severe storms here in Dallas).

    I nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award!!
    Check it out http://www.magnolia75thebakinglounge.com/2012/04/awards-and-nominees.html

    • April 4, 2012 9:54 am

      thank you so much!! I loooove butterscotch too 🙂 I hope you are all OK in the Dallas area! I’ve been watching the news reports up here.

  7. April 4, 2012 9:18 am

    Oh, my. I MUST make this!!! Such a fabulous idea…YUM!

  8. alyssa permalink
    April 4, 2012 11:40 pm

    Lovely photos of your week! Creme Brulee is one of my favorite desserts. I’ve never had butterscotch though. Great idea!

  9. April 5, 2012 5:41 am

    Fave dessert – love the butterscotch twist you’ve brought to it – it’s possible you’ve made it even more favouriter!

  10. April 6, 2012 10:37 am

    I just bought my first creme brûlée torch and I’ve been dying to use it! Your dessert looks fabulous, especially with the butterscotch twist! Yummm 🙂

Leave a Reply

