Skip to content

Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Bars with Orange Glaze

April 10, 2012

Spring has well, sprung, and it’s been beautiful!  I love finally being able to open the windows to let some fresh air in after a stagnant winter.  I believe a normal person would go outside during such a beautiful time but I tend to find myself scrubbing off the layers of flour that have settled over my kitchen during the holiday season, you know, just so I can mess it up again 🙂  But as much as I love the fresh scent of spring, nothing relaxes me more than the gentle whir from my mixer and the tantalizing scent of butter and sugar.

Lately, I’ve been fixated on oatmeal raisin cookies.  Thick, chewy, won’t put you in a sugar coma, oatmeal cookies.  But I prefer the middles and could really do without the crunchy edges so to get more of those middles I decided to bake them in a pan and then add some frosting 🙂  These are good.  Like really good.  I ate half the pan before adding the icing but I probably shouldn’t divulge details like that.  What’s even better is that they take like no time to make so go make them!

One Year Ago: Lemon Cheese Tart

Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Bars
Yields 9 servings
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen‘s adaptation of Quaker Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups oats
3/4 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2/3 cup raisins

1/2 cup confectioners sugar
2 tablespoon heavy cream
zest of an orange

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F).  Line an 8 inch X 8 inch baking pan with foil so that it overlaps the sides, spray with non stick cooking spray and set aside.

2. In a small mixing bowl stir together the oats, flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

3. In a large mixing bowl (or standing mixer) cream the butter for about 3 minutes on medium speed.  Add the sugar and continue beating until light and fluffy, about another 3 minutes.  Add egg and vanilla and beat, scraping down the bottom and sides of the bowl to make sure it is completely combined.  Add the dry ingredients and beat on low speed just until combined.  Stir in the raisins.

4. Spread the batter in the prepared baking pan and bake in preheated oven for 25 minutes or until the edges are dark brown and the middle is golden brown and set.  The batter will still be moist so you can’t check with a toothpick.  Let cool completely.

5. For the glaze: Place the confectioners sugar and orange zest in a small bowl.  Stir in the heavy cream until the sugar has all dissolved and the glaze is smooth.  Remove the bars from the pan to a cutting board.  Using a spoon, drizzle the orange glaze over the top and let sit until glaze has crusted over.  Cut into bars and serve!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2012 9:25 am

    These look and sound delicious! The orange glaze sounds great for these!

  2. April 10, 2012 10:25 am

    Well if this is not telepathic, I am not sure what is! I was thinking about an oatmeal treat, but in bar form, presto here it is! Glad you posted this, now I will not have to bend my brain. They look delicious and I really like the orange glaze on the top. Well done!

  3. April 10, 2012 10:43 am

    Mmmm, that sounds wonderful – I love oatmeal raisin baked goods, and the orange should add a bright flavor aspect 🙂

  4. April 10, 2012 12:12 pm

    The orange glaze is a great idea, I would have never thought of that.

  5. Kristina permalink
    April 10, 2012 1:34 pm

    Oatmeal raisin cookies are mom’s absolute favorite, she would LOVE these! I’m a big bar cookie girl too, they’re always so much more chewy and decadent than a cookie, these look amazing!!

  6. April 11, 2012 9:52 am

    These look fantastic!! Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  7. April 11, 2012 12:09 pm

    Mmmm. They look delicious. 🙂

  8. alyssa permalink
    April 12, 2012 1:20 am

    I love the frosting on top of these! I need to do some spring cleaning in my oven…But don’t remind me 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Thrifty-tip Thursday – Left-over Oatmeal Muffins « Easy-Going Organizer

Leave a Reply

