Skip to content

Cheesecake Flan

May 2, 2012

We leave for vacation two weeks from today but I think my brain has already departed.  Basically every thought eventually turns to ocean waves, sand, and sleeping in 🙂  So I’m trying to occupy myself to keep from going into psycho packing mode too early.  Last weekend it was my neice’s birthday party and a friend’s surprise birthday party, this week it will be braised beef tacos and cheesecake flan to “celebrate” Cinco de Mayo…

For years I never liked custards because of the texture.  Recently I’ve started trying more and actually liking them but it’s still only been custards I’ve made.  This combination of cheesecake and flan is perfect!  It has the denser texture of a cheesecake but all the flavor of a traditional flan.  Seriously, it was absolutely amazing, I ate waaay too many (but that’s expected now, right?) and I can’t wait to make it again this Saturday!

*I did run into a few issues my first time, I poured too thick a layer of caramel in the bottom of the ramekin and it wouldn’t loosen so my edges aren’t too pretty!

One Year Ago:  Cinnamon Sugar Tortillas with Vanilla Bean Mascarpone Mousse

Individual Cheesecake Flan
Yields 6-8 servings
Adapted from Ingrid Hoffman

Ingredients:

1 cup sugar
2 tablespoons water
1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
6 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
1 large egg, at room temperature
1 large egg yolk, at room temperature
3/4 cup heavy cream, at room temperature
3/4 cup sweetened condensed milk
1/2 cup whole milk, at room temperature
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

6 (6 ounce) ramekins

Directions:

1. Place the sugar, water and lemon juice in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat and stir to combine. Cook until sugar mixture reaches a deep golden brown color, about 10 minutes. Remove saucepan from the heat. Equally divide the caramel into 6 ramekins, swirling so that the caramel coats halfway up the sides of the dish, and set aside.

2. Preheat oven to 325 degrees (F).  Cream the softened cream cheese on medium speed of an electric mixer.  Add the eggs on low. Increase the speed to medium-high and beat until completely incorporated. Turn the mixer back to low speed and gradually add the heavy cream, condensed milk, whole milk and vanilla extract and continue to beat together until everything is well incorporated, scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary, about 2 to 3 minutes.

3. Ladle the custard over the caramel into the ramekins filling them up to 1/4-inch from the rim. Place a kitchen towel in a deep baking dish or roasting pan and place the ramekins in 2 rows on top of the towel. Place the baking dish in the oven and using a pitcher, pour enough hot (not boiling) water into the baking dish to reach halfway up the sides of the ramekins, taking care not to get water in the ramekins. Cover the baking dish tightly with aluminum foil and bake just until the flan is set, about 30-40 minutes. When you tap the edge of the ramekin the flan should still jiggle in the center.

4. Carefully remove the baking dish from the oven, remove the foil and let the ramekins cool slightly. Using tongs remove the ramekins from the water and set on a towel to cool for at least 2 hours before serving. Once cooled completely, the flan can be refrigerated for up to 3 days before un-molding and serving.

To serve, set the ramekins in an inch of very hot water for about a minute to loosen the flan, run a thin knife around the inside edge of the ramekin, and then invert onto a plate.

*I didn’t realize until I uploaded the pictures that there was a smudge on the lens hence the very fuzzy photos 😦

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2012 12:08 pm

    What an amazing idea to combine cheesecake and flan! This is definitely a winner! I can’t wait to make this…. I keep putting off buying ramekins, but I don’t think I can hold out very much longer. 😉

  2. May 2, 2012 12:12 pm

    Wow! What an amazing recipe. Looks positively delicious. 🙂

  3. May 2, 2012 12:40 pm

    What a great idea, this sounds great. I absolutely adore cheesecake.

  4. May 2, 2012 2:39 pm

    Ooooh… two of my favorites in one. This sounds mindblowingly delicious 🙂

  5. May 2, 2012 2:45 pm

    I’ve never made flan so I’m a bit intimidated but these sound delicious!

    • May 3, 2012 11:01 am

      this was my first time too! but actually it was way easier than I anticipated-I think it helped that it was individual portions too 🙂

  6. May 2, 2012 3:38 pm

    Not a big fan of flan, but I think that this fusion maybe just the ticket, especially when I consider your comment on the change in texture from the traditional flan. That close up looks fabulous-yum!

    • May 3, 2012 11:00 am

      definitely!! the cheesecake definitely helps, I’ve been dreaming of how soon I can make this again!

  7. May 3, 2012 9:50 am

    Oh, I’m exactly like you when it comes to being close to a vacation. I mentally depart long before we actually leave and for weeks before I make little packing lists. Torture 🙂 I like flan although it’s not my favorite dessert. But cheesecake is, so the combination sounds heavenly!

    • May 3, 2012 10:59 am

      I’m glad I’m not along! I’m such a list-maker 🙂 and flan has never been a favorite but with the cheesecake texture it makes it sooo much better!

  8. May 3, 2012 11:00 pm

    I absolutely love flan and have seen it made with cream cheese before but had never tried it. Now that someone I trust has tried it, I soooo need to make this 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Cinnamon Cheesecake | the purple spoon

Leave a Reply

