Skip to content

For Mom: Coconut Cream Pie

May 9, 2012

“A mother is a person who seeing there are only four pieces of pie for five people, promptly announces she never did care for pie.”
~Tenneva Jordan

I have a wonderful mother who happens to love pie, coconut cream pie to be exact, but is exactly the person who would give up her pie for her kids if she saw there wasn’t enough 🙂  My mother is perhaps one of the sweetest people on earth, she thinks the best of everybody (even if they don’t deserve it lol), and has a wonderfully quirky sense of humor 🙂

I didn’t originally make this pie specifically for my mom but when I told her I was making it she promptly texted me; “call me as soon as its done-I’m coming over.”  I have to say, as someone whose not a fan of cream pies, this was delicious.  Cream pies are always better home made and this one was no exception.  It’s your classic American diner cream pie, the coconut flavor is mellow and the filling rich, perfectly balanced with a flakey, buttery crust and lightly sweetened mounds of whipped cream.

I hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day weekend!  Happy (early) Mother’s Day Mom!

One Year Ago: Mini key lime pies

Coconut Cream Pie
Adapted from Emeril Lagasse 

Ingredients:

9 inch pie crust, baked

3/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 cups unsweetened coconut milk
1 1/2 cups whole milk
1/2 a vanilla bean (split with seeds scraped out, you will use both seeds and pod)
1/4 cup cornstarch
5 egg yolks, at room temperature
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup flaked, unsweetened coconut
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 tablespoon butter

1 cup whipping cream
2 tablespoons sugar

Directions:

1.  In a medium nonstick saucepan, combine 3/4 cup sugar, coconut milk,  1 cup of the whole milk and vanilla bean and seeds and whisk periodically over medium heat just until the mixture comes to a simmer.  Remove the pod and set aside.

2.  In a small bowl, whisk the remaining 1/2 cup milk and cornstarch together and stir until cornstarch is dissolved. Whisk egg yolks with salt in a medium mixing bowl. Temper yolks by slowly pouring the scaled milk mixture into yolks while constantly whisking.  Add yolk and milk mixture and dissolved corn starch back into the saucepan and whisk vigorously over medium heat until thickened, about 2 minutes. Remove from heat and add coconut, vanilla, and butter. Whisk until completely incorporated.

3. Pour the filling into the prepared pie shell. Cover the pie with plastic wrap and place in the refrigerator. Chill the pie completely, about 2 hours.

4. Beat the whipping cream on high speed with an electric mixer, gradually adding the 2 tablespoons of sugar.  Beat to stiff peaks.  Pipe or spread the cream evenly over the surface of the pie and serve!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2012 11:35 am

    Your mom knows a good thing or two about pies! I am not sure if I would have wanted to wait either. All that picture does is re-inforce the issue that this pie was a delicious treat. I love how you did the whipped cream on this-stunning. Also, there is something really eye catching about the lighting in the picture as well. I sure do wish that pie had been here instead of there. Delicious post.

  2. May 9, 2012 11:42 am

    Mmmmmm – I love anything coconut and would probably share your mom’s taste 🙂

  3. May 9, 2012 1:35 pm

    Looks delicious! Have you ever tried the Tom Douglas (super popular chef in Seattle) recipe for this pie? It’s heaven? Buzzed you:)

    • May 11, 2012 1:35 pm

      thank you! I haven’t but I’m always in search for the best pie recipes!! I’ll have to look him up!

  4. May 9, 2012 4:24 pm

    This looks delicious and what a lovely thing to do for your Mom. 🙂

  5. May 9, 2012 10:01 pm

    Love those creamy flowers on top. Beautiful!

  6. May 10, 2012 8:24 am

    It’s been a very pie spring for me so far this year, and this looks like an awesome new addition! Coconut’s a favorite flavor of mine…who can beat coconut + cream? 😀

  7. May 10, 2012 4:18 pm

    This sounds dreamy!! And so gorgeous, too!!!! Your mom is a gem 🙂

  8. May 11, 2012 6:37 am

    I love coconut cream pie. I have been making a raw version lately that is amazing. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

  9. May 11, 2012 7:38 am

    If I could only eat one dessert for the rest of my life it would be coconut cream pie for sure!! Yours looks so delicious, I especially love the rose like swirls you created with the cream. Your mom sounds just like mine, and I always use that quote you used too! I can’t count the number of times my mom has given up dessert or roast potatoes or homemade Smoothies when there weren’t enough to go round! Aren’t moms the best! So glad to have discovered your blog via food buzz, I am your newest fan!

  10. May 11, 2012 8:25 am

    I was looking for a pie like this can’t wait to make it.
    Greetings from Sunny Greece.

  11. May 11, 2012 9:10 am

    Had the most amazing Coconut Cream Pie in Barbados, which was made from freshly grated coconut, since then I have always been searching for the right recipe, will try yours!

  12. Food Stories permalink
    May 11, 2012 12:23 pm

    Congratulations on your foodbuzz top 9, today!

  13. May 11, 2012 12:43 pm

    Congratulations on making the foodbuzz Top 9!

  14. May 11, 2012 4:25 pm

    Coconut Cream pie is one of my faves! Congrats on the Top 9!

  15. May 11, 2012 4:55 pm

    Congratulations for being #1 on the FoodBuzz Top 9!

  16. May 14, 2012 10:04 am

    Such a delicious dessert! And the piping on top with the cream looks so beautiful!

  17. May 23, 2012 8:24 am

    I’m with your mother – I love this pie!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « The Incredible Lightness of Seeing

Leave a Reply

