Skip to content

Strawberry Shortcake Cupcakes

May 16, 2012

I leave for vacation today!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I’m a little excited 🙂 I’ll be in Florida for the next 11 days soaking in every bit of sun, sand, and freedom so I may or may not be around to answer questions or comments (although you know you can hardly keep me out of the kitchen-I already have a cake planned for a “down day”).

But I’m leaving you with some cupcakes in my absence 🙂  Incredibly moist and flavorful strawberry shortcake cupcakes with a whipped mascarpone frosting.  I made these for a Mother’s Day cruise and I really wasn’t going to blog them because they’ve been done before.  Not here, but do a quick google search and a million will come up (give or take a few).  I sorted through them for days only to find that 99% of them included some form of strawberry jam, too-sweet confectioners icing or other “jelly” like filling.  I wanted none of these.  My requirements were for an ultra-moist vanilla cupcake, fresh strawberries and a lighter frosting that could hold up longer than the traditional whipped cream that accompanies *real* strawberry shortcake.

The scrumptious result was my version of the Magnolia vanilla cupcake heaped with fresh strawberries that had a splash of balsamic vinegar and then finished off with richly flavored but still light whipped mascarpone frosting.

One Year Ago:  Dove Peanut Butter Blossoms

Strawberry Shortcake Cupcakes
Yields 24 cupcakes
Cupcake adapted from Magnolia’s vanilla cupcakes, full pictures of making them are at that link.

Ingredients:

2 3/4 cup flour
2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
2 cup sugar
4 large eggs, at room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup milk, at room temperature

1 lb fresh strawberries
1 tablespoon sugar
splash of balsamic vinegar

8 ounces mascarpone cheese
3/4 cup confectioners sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 tablespoon vanilla bean paste (optional)
1 1/2 cup whipping cream

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F).  Line 2 cupcake pans with liners.

In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder and salt and set aside.

2. In a large bowl, cream the butter at least 3 minutes or until the butter is the consistency of mayonnaise (gross I know!).  Gradually add sugar and continue to beat until light and fluffy (about another 3 minutes or so).  Add eggs one at a time, scraping down the bowl in between each addition.  Beat in vanilla.  Add flour in three parts alternating with the milk and beginning and ending with the flour.

3. Using a 1/4 cup measuring cup (or cupcake scoop) fill the cupcake liners about 1/2 full.  Bake in preheated oven for 18 minutes.  Let cool in pan for 10 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

4. While the cupcakes are cooling slice the hull and slice the strawberries.  To make them more “bite-size”, I (ok, my ocd sister), sliced the strawberry and then cut each slice into fourths.  Place the strawberries in a  medium size bowl and sprinkle the tablespoon of sugar and splash of balsamic vinegar to taste.  Stir to coat completely, cover the bowl with plastic wrap and keep in the refrigerator until you are ready to fill the cupcakes.

5. For the Frosting:  In a medium size mixing bowl beat the whipping cream on high speed until stiff peaks form.  Set aside.  In a large bowl combine the mascarpone, confectioners sugar, vanilla and vanilla bean paste, and beat on medium speed until smooth.  Fold in 1/3 of the whipped cream to loosen the mascarpone then fold in the rest gently.  Use immediately or store in the refrigerator for up to 1 day.

6. To serve: Cut a circle out of the center of each cupcake and spoon the strawberries into a heaping pile (I let a bit of the juice drain out before spooning in but leave some).  Pipe the frosting on the cupcakes and serve!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2012 12:56 am

    yummy! what a great way to start your vacation. have fun in Florida!

  2. May 16, 2012 3:56 am

    Those are, each and every one, wonderful!

  3. May 16, 2012 10:40 am

    YUM! So cute

  4. May 16, 2012 10:41 am

    They look beautiful! 🙂

  5. May 16, 2012 11:52 am

    Delicious flavors and great presentation. I want some of these gems now! Enjoy you time in Florida!

  6. May 16, 2012 12:45 pm

    Absolutely stunning and inviting!

  7. May 16, 2012 2:09 pm

    Girl, these look amazing. I love that you stuffed them with fresh strawberries. Thanks for sharing.

  8. May 16, 2012 3:23 pm

    These are so cute and summery! I love strawberry shortcake and this is such a fun spin on the classic!

  9. Merlinda permalink
    May 16, 2012 4:49 pm

    I’m a bit confused with the recipe. She mentions to cut a hole out of cup cake, fill with frosting and then spoon blueberries (which I assume she means strawberries). In the pictures, looks like she filled hole with fresh dry strawberries and then frosted. I guess my question is – If you are adding sugar to strawberries, they will get very syrupie – Are you adding the strawberries with the syrup to the cupcakes or just the strawberries?

    • May 16, 2012 5:23 pm

      Hi, I’m so sorry about that! I thought I finished writing out the recipe but apparently I hadn’t 🙂 I have updated the end with the strawberries. You want a bit of the syrup to coat the strawberries but I did drain slightly from the spoon before filling the cupcakes. Really how much syrup is up to you, if you are serving them immediately then you can have a little more, if it will be a few hours then less syrup. I hope that helps! thanks for the feedback 🙂

  10. May 16, 2012 5:13 pm

    What a great recipe, these look super delicious! 🙂

  11. May 16, 2012 5:49 pm

    Lovely cupcakes! These would be cupcakes my husband would adore. Have a great time in Florida. I am jealous. Enjoy it for me.

  12. May 16, 2012 5:59 pm

    These do look pretty amazing. Fresh, natural and good.

  13. May 16, 2012 8:38 pm

    Have a wonderful time in Florida! I’m so glad you decided to blog about these beauties…I love the lack of jam and the mascarpone frosting….mmmmmmmmm.

  14. May 20, 2012 11:15 am

    Perfect substitution. Fresh strawberries are so great with vanilla cake! Have a great vacation!

  15. May 23, 2012 8:25 am

    What a great idea! I’m definitely trying this one when the strawberries start ripening next month.

  16. August 23, 2012 10:48 am

    I made these last night for a picnic I’m having tonight. They are so delicious… I stole many bites of each component and can’t believe I had the willpower to not eat a finished cupcake! I made a half batch of cupcakes (12) but I’m a bit of a frosting and mascarpone fiend so I made a 3/4 batch of the frosting. It was perfect! 🙂 I did cut up too many strawberries (too optimistic about how many I could stuff in) so I’m going to serve them with the rest of the strawberry pieces for people to ladle on top and eat with a spoon. YUM. Thank you for this incredible recipe! 🙂

    • August 23, 2012 10:51 am

      I’m so glad to hear!! I love these cupcakes and always make extra for me to steal 🙂 thank you for the feedback!

Trackbacks

  1. Strawberry Chocolate Shortcake | Geek Alabama
  2. Strawberry Chocolate Shortcake | A Guy's Cuisine
  3. Orange-Vanilla Cupcakes with Chocolate Fudge Frosting | A HEALTHY LIFE
  4. Chef Tammy and Chef Miki | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

