Skip to content

Waffle Bowl Sundae Cupcakes

June 30, 2012

Family legend has it that my mom didn’t let me have any ice cream until after I was 2 years old.  Instead, I was fed a vegetable-strict diet that was very heavy on garden tomatoes.  I blame my insane love of sugar and hatred of tomatoes on those first 2, impressionable years.  Of course my parents were also the ones sneaking my 4 month old babies little spoonfuls of ice cream when they thought I wasn’t looking 🙂  In any case, its no secret that my family has a pretty big sweet tooth so when I saw the cupcake project  which asks its entrants to come up with amazing ice cream cupcake creations, I couldn’t believe I hadn’t thought of combining cupcakes and ice cream before!  For shame!

Now I have two favorite ways to order my ice cream.  I either like a soft serve twist with rainbow sprinkles or a hot fudge sundae-preferably in a waffle cone bowl.  I’ve made waffle cupcakes before in the form of chicken and waffle cupcakes and they are not only super easy but insanely moist!  I ever-so-slightly tweaked Bakerella’s pancake muffins to form the waffle bowl for these cupcakes.  I then filled them with vanilla bean ice cream and loads of chocolate syrup, whipped cream and sprinkles, yumm!!

One Year Ago:  Sour Cherry Pocket Pies

Waffle Bowl Sundae Cupcakes
Cupcake recipe from Bakerella
Yields 8 cupcakes

This post has been entered in the 2012 Ice Cream Cupcake Contest held by Cupcake Project and Scoopalicious

Ingredients:

1 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2/3 cup buttermilk, at room temperature
1 large egg, at room temperature
2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
2 tablespoons melted butter

ice cream or vanilla bean mascarpone mousse
whipped cream
chocolate syrup
sprinkles
waffle cone

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F).  Line a standard size cupcake tin with 8 liners and set aside.

2. In a medium mixing bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, sugar and brown sugar.

3. In another small bowl whisk together the buttermilk, egg, maple syrup and melted butter.  Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and stir just until combined.  The batter will be slightly thick and lumpy.  Scoop 1/4 cup of batter into each cupcake liner.  Bake for about 16 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.  Remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

4. To serve:  Hollow out the middle of the cupcake by running a thin knife around the top about a 1/4 inch in from the sides.  Gently pull out the middle. Fill the hollowed cupcake with a scoop of ice cream and garnish with whipped cream, chocolate syrup and sprinkles!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2012 12:43 am

    OMG. you make such lovely bakes! Yummy! =)

  2. July 1, 2012 8:30 am

    What wonderful cupcakes. I will bet it tasted delicious!

  3. July 1, 2012 2:13 pm

    Mmmmm….what a yummy idea! Waffle bowls sound DELISH!

  4. July 2, 2012 5:38 am

    Yum! What a marvelous idea. Super cute!

  5. July 2, 2012 1:28 pm

    that’s so cute! funny how parents have one way to parent, and another to grandparent! this recipe would definitely satisfy a sweet tooth. 🙂

  6. July 4, 2012 10:43 am

    Holy crap! Yes please!!! These look so amazing!

Leave a Reply

