Skip to content

Chunky White Chocolate Chip Cookies

February 19, 2013

chunky white chocolate chip cookies

The first recipe I learned to make was chocolate chip cookies.  Basically they were about the only thing I baked other than the occasional boxed brownie until high school.  I still remember sitting in health class (ironic, I know lol) chatting and probably eating cookies with my best friend when she requested that I make the same cookies but with white chocolate chips instead.  Blasphemy! White chocolate chips instead of chocolate?!  But I obliged 🙂  and much to my disbelief they were actually pretty good, in fact, I made more of them because they were way better than I ever imagined.

stir together dry ingredientscream the butterbeat in sugar, eggs and vanillamix it all together

Fast forward a couple years, OK 10, and I was snowed in with the kids again.  To escape the madness I whipped up some cookies.  But this time instead of just white chocolate chips I added some toasted pecans and toasted coconut hoping to keep the kids away from them  for some added flavor boost.

scoop dough onto cookie sheetbake and cool

They were delicious.  Toasty and chewy, not too sweet, it’s easy to eat several of them without thinking.  I brought some to my sister later at the gym (again with the irony!), she text me the next morning; “I forgot to tell you! Those cookies last night were AMAZING! One of my favorites now!”.  They really are amazing, I think I might make more of them today 🙂

chunky white chocolate chip cookies

One Year Ago: Bakery Style Chocolate Chip Muffins 
Two Years Ago:
Coconut Cupcakes

Chunky White Chocolate Chip Cookies
Yields approximately 20 cookies

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon corn starch
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup brown sugar (light or dark), packed
1/4 cup sugar
1 large egg, at room temperature
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1/2 cup whole pecans
1/2 cup shredded, sweetened coconut flakes
1/3 cup white chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F). Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and set aside.  Once the oven is preheated toast the pecans on a separate baking sheet for 5-7 minutes and fragrant.  Toast the coconut flakes separately for about 5 minutes or fragrant and golden brown.  Set them aside to cool.

2. In a medium sized bowl, stir together the flour, corn starch, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl, cream the butter about 3 minutes or until it has the consistency of mayonnaise.  Beat in both sugars until light and fluffy, about another 3-5 minutes. Add egg and vanilla and beat until combined. Add dry ingredients and beat on low speed to combine. Make sure to scrape the bottom and sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula to make sure all dough is incorporated.

4. Roughly chop the toasted pecans and then stir them into the dough along with the toasted coconut flakes and white chocolate chips.

5. Using a medium cookie scoop or tablespoon, drop dough in rows on the cookie sheet leaving about 2 inches between each cookie. Bake for 10 minutes, cookies should look very slightly underdone, they will continue to cook on the baking sheet when you take them out. Remove the cookie sheets from the oven and allow the cookies to cool on the sheet for about 2 minutes before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely. Eat whenever you feel like!  Store in an airtight container once cooled, they will stay nice and chewy 🙂

white chocolate chip cookies

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2013 8:41 am

    One of my faves!

  2. February 19, 2013 12:54 pm

    I love white chocolate chips in my cookies. These look wonderful!

  3. February 21, 2013 6:47 pm

    Reblogged this on Cooking in København and commented:
    Definitely want to make these!

  4. April 8, 2013 2:34 pm

    Those look delicious!!!
    I’ll be posting a rhubarb meringue pie recipe tomorrow! Check out my blog http://blondescientist.wordpress.com

Trackbacks

  1. Lemon Coconut White Chocolate Cookies « Brooklyn Locavore

Leave a Reply

