Skip to content

German Chocolate Mini-Cakes

April 4, 2011

I’ve been happily married for almost 9 years (9 years! I’m not sure when that happened!).  And I’m also happy to say my husband still surprises me 🙂 Sometimes its good, sometimes its not.  Like a week or so ago when I made those oh so adorable and yummy cream puffs.  My dear taste-tester husband tells me he’s never had real pastry cream.  He’s only had those frozen cream puffs with whatever you want to call that filling inside.

You mean to tell me that we’ve been married 9 years and you’ve NEVER had REAL pastry cream?!?  I was shocked people.  Shocked and appalled. It took about a week for me to recover and think this through.

So while thinking, and eating, and thinking some more, I realized I had my own confession (see what a good marriage will do to you?).  I’ve never had real german chocolate cake (and by real I mean home made).  In fact the only german chocolate cake I’d ever had was diner cake and you know that had been sitting in that cold glass case for at least several days and had waaay too much sugar in it.  I had to remedy this. Not only for myself but also because I’ve promised my brother in law that I would make him German Chocolate cake for his birthday (without actually knowing what I was doing but figuring it wouldn’t be that hard).

Wow.  I’m so sorry it took me this long to make this scrumptious dessert.  I nearly ate all the filling before I even made the cakes!  It combines everything I love, chocolate, toasted pecans, gooey filling, and more chocolate.  I’m not even going to admit to you how many I ate (just know it was more than a person should consume and I think the sugar high is just lifting now).  I made the cake into cupcakes, flipped them upside down and cut them in 3 layers (it’s more fun to eat your own personal cake).  The filling is a glorified custard, starting out with cream and eggs on the stove top and then poured over toasted coconut, toasted pecans and butter.  And as if that wasn’t enough the whole thing is topped with creamy chocolate ganache.

Melt chocolate in a double boiler

Beat butter and sugar until fluffy

Add melted chocolate and eggs

Add sifted dry ingredients

alternating with liquid

fold in egg whites

and you’ve got german chocolate cake batter
(which by the way is NOT german in origin)

Bake them up

Make the filling.  Now tell me that don’t look good.

cut your cupcakes into layers

fill them

repeat.

German Chocolate Mini-Cakes
Yields two 9 inch layer cakes or 24 cupcakes

Oh you wanted the recipe?

I can’t give that to you.  yet.  You’ll find out why soon enough 🙂

But here’s a link to a pretty good recipe,

Foodnetwork

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2011 9:24 am

    Going to have to move my birthday forward a few months so I can try this stunning cake right now! I love the filling and I would have real trouble with the ganache – most of it would go straight from the bowl to my mouth without ever getting near the cake 😀

  2. Kathy permalink
    March 7, 2012 3:55 pm

    Please let me know as soon as this recipe becomes available!!! Can’t wait to make it!!

Leave a comment