Skip to content

Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes

March 1, 2011

It’s national Pancake Day!  well at least according to Ihop.  But, know what makes me happier?  It’s March 1st-the end of the Daniel Fast!!  To celebrate, I had blueberry ricotta pancakes, bacon, eggs, oh and lots of coffee.  My eye is twitching from the caffeine and sugar rush-its fabulous 🙂 And on top of all that happiness my wonderful husband gave me an early birthday present, a new camera!

To celebrate your own pancake day, here’s a recipe for fluffy, delicate, melt-in-your-mouth pancakes.  I just served them with butter and maple syrup (the real kind, I’ll spare you my in depth monologue on the virtues of real vs. fake syrup) but you could serve them with honey or a blueberry compote as well.

Whisk dry ingredients together

In another bowl, whisk wet ingredients together

Fold in ricotta

and blueberries

Cook on a hot griddle

Stack and eat!!

Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes
makes 10-12 pancakes

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour
3 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 cups milk (or buttermilk), at room temperature
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup ricotta cheese
1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

canola oil for greasing the griddle (slightly-we’re not deep frying the pancakes!)

Directions:

1. Preheat stove top or electric griddle to medium low.

2. Whisk together in a large bowl, flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Set aside.

3. In another bowl, whisk the milk, butter, eggs and vanilla. note: I set out the milk and eggs about 1-1 1/2 hours before I make the pancakes, the ingredients just come together better.

4. Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and gently whisk them together, mixing just until combined.  Batter will be thick and slightly lumpy.

5. Fold in ricotta and then fold in the blueberries gently.

5. Using a 1/3 measuring cup, pour batter onto hot, greased griddle.  Cook on first side until edges are slightly dry and un-popped bubbles appear on the surface.  Flip and cook until the underside is lightly browned.  Serve immediately or keep warm in a 200 degree (F) oven while you finish cooking the rest.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    March 2, 2011 10:53 pm

    I have to know – HOW many servings is this recipe supposed to make? About how many pancakes, and of what size? They look so good and I have fresh blueberries and ricotta in my fridge just begging to be combined into this luxurious breakfast, but before I do that – I want to know about how many calories I’m going to be consuming!

    • March 3, 2011 7:04 am

      Using a 1/3 measuring cup to pour the batter on the griddle, the recipe yields about 10-12 pancakes. And I don’t know what you mean by calories…it’s a well known fact that I remove all calories from my recipes 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Raspberry Sour Cream Pancakes « the purple spoon
  2. When Fear Squeezes | Thirst for God

Leave a comment